Finding Articles
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowSearch for literature reviews that capture current understandings of topics, including what is well-supported and what is controversial. These articles also set the topic in historical context, highlight the direction of future research, and outline the general significance of the research to society. Subjects are wide-ranging from the science to law to social sciences to politics. (Annual Reviews)
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles published on topics within anthropology. This database combines results from the Royal Anthropological Institute’s Anthropological Index and Harvard University's Anthropological Literature. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (EBSCO)
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles published in the 30+ journals from the American Anthropological Association. (Wiley)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the social sciences. This database is part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Browse Anthropology Journals by Subject
- The links below come from the library's main Journal Search page
- These links will show specific anthropology journals' available date range, if they're accessible online or physically on campus at UR, and if they're peer-reviewed:
Key Anthropology Journals
- American Anthropologist
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1888 - present
- American Journal of Human Biology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1996 - present
- American Journal of Physical Anthropology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1996 - 2021
- Now known as the American Journal of Biological Anthropology (online coverage from 2022 - present)
- Annual Review of Anthropology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1972 - present
- Cultural Anthropology
- Peer-reviewed, open access, online coverage from 1986 - present
- Current Anthropology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1959 - present
- Economics & Human Biology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2003 - present
- Evolutionary Anthropology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1996 - present
- Human Ecology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1972 - present
- Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1982 - present
- Journal of Human Evolution
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1995 - present
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)