Finding Books
Search in the library catalog for books using OneSearch
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
From the results screen, you can narrow down results to just books available in person at UR by clicking the "In the Library" and "Books" filters from the left-side of the screen
There are two main ways to specifically find ebooks in the library:
1. OneSearch
- After searching for your topic in OneSearch, add the "Online" and "Books" filters to narrow results to ebooks
2. Ebooks Databases
- Access the following databases directly to search for relevant ebooks
- ***Note: these are not the only ebook databases available at UR, nor do they feature results that wouldn't come up in OneSearch. Rather they allow you to more easily browse relevant ebooks based on your research topic
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- eBook Collection (Project MUSE) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on a wide range of topics from major university presses and scholarly publishers, mostly in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- eBook Collection (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on a wide range of topics from university presses, public policy organizations, and independent presses. Note: Books and journal articles are searched through the same portal, so make sure to filter by books. (ITHAKA)
- eBook Collection (Cambridge University Press) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks on topics in the humanities, social sciences, and science disciplines. (Cambridge)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
- You can request books (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Anthropology Reference Works
Online Reference Sources
- Countries and Their CulturesFour-volume series with information on the culture, social structures, and cultural similarities of over 200 countries.
- Encyclopedia of AnthropologyFive-volume series with entries that "[focus] on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology."
- Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural AnthropologyCollection of the terminology and concepts utilized in social and cultural anthropology.
- Ethnic Groups WorldwidePublished in 1998, this book provides descriptions of ethnic groups across the globe.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily LifeFive-volume series that provides varied information for cultural groups around the world, including their "history, politics, customs, religion, education, human rights issues, teen life, and more."
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)