Research: Getting Started
Looking for . . . Library Research Guides
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowLimit to BOOKS to search only books available -- this will search for both physical books in the library and ebooks the library has subscribed to or purchased.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Google BooksThese are digitized books. Most have only a limited portion of their text online, but the full text is searchable and you may find the full text in the UR Library catalog
- Research Guides @ URSearch Research and Subject Guides to locate resources in specific subject areas.
- Research Databases A-ZA-Z list of all UR databases -- use Research Guides to find databases in specific subject areas.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Google ScholarSearch scholarly pages, articles, white and conference papers.
- Identify and Locate Scholarly JournalsHelpful chart and tips for how to select scholarly journals in Ebsco databases, such as Academic Search Complete from University of Maryland's Library.
- Peer Review in 5 MinutesNCSU Libraries (video)
Academic Research & the Scholarly Conversation
Picking a topic IS Research!
Tips for Finding Peer-Reviewed Journals & Articles:
A journal may be peer-reviewed, but that doesn’t mean that all information in that journal is actually refereed, or reviewed. For example, editorials, letters to the editor, or book reviews aren’t peer-reviewed parts of the journal.
Use the hints below to get you started.
How do you determine if it’s a peer-reviewed journal article?
- Start with academic or scholarly journals. You won’t find peer-reviewed articles in popular, newsstand magazines.
- Look for research length, journal articles – not one page overviews of a topic and definitely not book reviews or editorials.
Finding peer-reviewed articles:
1. Limit your database search to peer-reviewed journals only. Some databases, such as Academic Search Complete and other Ebsco databases have this feature on the initial search screen.
2. Check Ulrichsweb (on the Databases’ list) to determine if the journal is indicated as being peer-reviewed.
3. Review the journal’s publication details to see if it is peer-reviewed. If you can PHYSICALLY look at the journal, information in the About or Submission sections will provide details on the editorial review process. If the journal is only available online, look at the details provided within the database about publication. Academic Search provides a link and provides publication details, including scope and type of journal, including whether it is peer-reviewed.
4. Look at the official Web site of the journal on the Web. Check About or Submission Guidelines to see if it states that the journal is peer-reviewed. Don’t just look at web pages about the journal – go to the publisher’s web page for the most accurate information.
[adapted from ASU Library Guide]