It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HISTORY RESEARCH GUIDE: Home
Includes library research materials (books, online research databases, websites, journals, and media) in studying history.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Primarily American newspapers from the 18th and 19th centuries, including important African-American newspapers. Includes the Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, suffragist materials, Civil War articles, and Godey's Lady's Book.
Full-text archives of six national papers of record and five historically Black papers.
Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, Los Angeles Times, New York Amsterdam News, Pittsburgh Courier, The Atlanta Constitution, The Christian Science Monitor, The New York Times with Index, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post; Full-text; Dates vary with each newspaper.
Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1639 - 1819
Books from 1801-1819 published in America on the topics of history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel, etc. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.
Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1801 - 1819
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Online bibliography to the study of the European Middle Ages and Renaissance periods from 400-1700.; Index; 1997 - present; Records in the database are drawn from the Renaissance Society of America, the University of Toronto Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, and the Arizona Center for Medieval and Renaissance Studies at Arizona State University.
Head, Rare Books & Special Collections; History Librarian