Reference Materials - Print
Listed below are just a few of the many excellent reference books available in print form in the Boatwright Library. To find more items, search the catalog using "Boatwright Reference" in the location field.
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryThe central focus is on the experience of African-Americans throughout North and South America.
- Encyclopedia of American Social MovementsA comprehensive range of social movements is treated in 16 broad categories, from civil rights and women to antiwar protests and global justice.
- Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual HistoryIn more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
- Datapedia of the United States: American History in numbersThis resource covers a wide range of topics, including: health and healthcare; food and nutrition; education and learning; law enforcement, courts, and prisons; arts, entertainment, recreation, and travel; politics and elections; public finance; and national defense.
- A Reference Guide to Latin American HistoryAn essential reference for comprehensive and detailed coverage of Latin American history.
- Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual historyhis Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
Other Databases of Interest
- OAIster This link opens in a new windowSearch for records from open archive collections, largely based in universities' and research institutions' digital libraries. Typical collections include theses, technical reports, research papers, and image collections. (OCLC)
- Ship Index This link opens in a new windowSearch an index for reference to specific sailing vessels found in magazines, journals, books, and websites. (Ship Index, LLC)
Reference Materials - Online
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowAccess biographies of people who shaped British history and culture. Note: Only one user at a time may access this database. (Oxford)
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on history, culture, peoples, and societies of Latin American and the Caribbean. Documents include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, and ephemera. (Gale)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- PBS Videos This link opens in a new windowStream videos originally broadcast on PBS, including several of Ken Burns' series such as American Experience, Scientific American Frontiers, and many others. (VIVA)
