OSTP "Nelson Memo"
On August 25, 2022, the Office of Science and Technology Policy released a Memorandum outlining the new policy guidance for public access policies as related to federally funded research results. The links provided here are a starting point to help you understand the memo and the policies coming from it.
International OA
- cOAlition SOn 4 September 2018, a group of national research funding organisations, with the support of the European Commission and the European Research Council (ERC), announced the launch of cOAlition S, an initiative to make full and immediate Open Access to research publications a reality. It is built around Plan S, which consists of one target and 10 principles. [text copied from home page of link]
- Plan SPlan S requires that, from 2021, scientific publications that result from research funded by public grants must be published in compliant Open Access journals or platforms. [text copied from home page of link]
- Journal Checker Tool *test phase*A web-based tool which provides advice to researchers on how they can comply with their funder’s Plan S-aligned Open Access policy when seeking to publish in their chosen journal. [text copied from website]
What is Open Access?
Open Access is devoted to making information available online, free, and unrestricted. In addition to scholarly publications, the Open Access Movement also includes Open Science, Open Data, and Open Education.
Open Access 1) Allows greater access to resources supporting research, through open access publishing or open access repositories; and 2) Allows for text or data mining.
Many funding agencies have policies requiring open access to articles resulting from their funding.
The symbol of the unlocked padlock identifies open access resources.
Open Access Directories
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)DOAJ is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.
- Directory of Open Access BooksThe primary focus of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
- Open DOARGlobal directory of academic open access repositories.
- OATD – Open Access Theses and DissertationsOATD aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world.
- Digital Commons NetworkIncludes scholarship from hundreds of university and college research repositories.
- Humanities CommonHC is a network for people working in the humanities. It includes open-access scholarship and teaching materials.
- Open Access Directory (OAD)A compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large.
Open Access Explained
Piled Higher and Deeper (PHD Comics)
Head, Research & Instruction
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Recommended Websites
- OASISOASIS provides an authoritative ‘sourcebook’ on Open Access, covering the concept, principles, advantages, approaches and means to achieving it.
- Open Library of HumanitiesThis site aims to give the background to, and rationale for the vision of building a low cost, sustainable, Open Access future for the humanities.
- Good practices for university open-access policiesPolicy suggestions from the Berkman Center for the Internet and Society at Harvard University.