Finding Articles and Journals
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on various topics connected with agriculture, climate change, energy, the environment, natural resources, toxic waste, and sustainability. This database includes both AGRICOLA and TOXLINE as sub-databases. (ProQuest)
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- GeoBase (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new windowSearch for peer-reviewed articles in geography, geology and ecology. (Elsevier)
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to humans' impact on the environment, such as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowSearch across Biological Abstracts, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, PQ Dissertations and Theses, Web of Science Core (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), and Zoological Record. Track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch an index of journal articles in the liberal arts and the sciences. This link cross-searches the Core databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It's part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
Browse Geography/Environmental Sciences Journals by Subject
- The links below come from the library's main Journal Search page
- These links will show specific geography journals' available date range, if they're accessible online or physically on campus at UR, and if they're peer-reviewed:
Top Geography Journals, organized by impact factor
- Progress in Human Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1977 - present
- Applied Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1981 - present
- Journal of Economic Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2001 - present
- Annals of the American Association of Geographers
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2016 - present
- International Journal of Geographical Information Science
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1993 - present (no full text for most recent 1 year and 3 months)
- Political Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1992 - present
- Progress in Political Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1977 - present
- GeoJournal
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1977 - present
- Geography Compass
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2007 - present
- Area
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1969 - present
- Social & Cultural Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2000 - present (no full text for most recent 1 year and 3 months)
- Economic Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1925 - present (no full text for most recent 1 year and 6 months)
- Urban Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2007 - 2020
- Transactions in GIS
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1997 - present
- The Professional Geographer
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1984 - present
- The Geographical Journal
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 1893 - present
- Journal of Geographical Sciences
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2001 - present
- Dialogues in Human Geography
- Peer-reviewed, online coverage from 2011 - present
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)