Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GEOGRAPHY RESEARCH GUIDE: Home

LibGuides Menu

Welcome

Welcome to the UR research guide for Geography! Use this guide to learn more about the library's rich resources in geography--you can access books, databases, journals, and websites from this page. 

If you need any help with your research, please contact Samantha Guss, liaison librarian for Geography & the Environment, using the contact info at right.

Background information & key reference works in geography

Use encyclopedias and dictionaries to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, and definitions.  Articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics. 

  • Atlas of Global Development / World Bank
  • Columbia Gazetteer of the World
         REF G103.5 .C645 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science
         REF G63 .E555 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Human Geography
         REF GF4 .E54 2006
  • Encyclopedia of Tourism
         REF G155 .A1 E4295 2000
  • Literature of Travel and Exploration: an Encyclopedia
         REF G465 .L565 2003
  • Penguin Dictionary of Geography
         REF G63 .C562 2003
  • Placenames of the World
         REF G105 .R66 2006
  • A Primer of GIS: Fundamental Geographic and Cartographic Concepts
         REF G70.212 H38 2008
  • World Geographical Encyclopedia
         REF G63 .E5213 1995
  • World Geography
         REF G133 .E48 2002

Social Sciences Librarian

Samantha Guss's picture
Samantha Guss
Contact:
Office: 182 Boatwright Library,
Research & Collaborative Area
Email: sguss@richmond.edu
Phone (Fall 2020: use email instead): 804-289-8851

FALL 2020: WORKING MOSTLY REMOTELY, but email me to schedule a Zoom consultation or I can help you via email -- get in touch any time!
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.