Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ELECTRONIC BOOKS: Home

Welcome

The purpose of this guide is to organize some of the information available about electronic books available either through Boatwright Library's purchases and subscriptions, or through free or commercial sources.

Electronic Books in the Catalog

Although electronic books are part of many databases that also include articles in journals, others belong to collections composed exclusively of ebooks or reside on their publishers' websites. Those in mixed collections must usually be approached through the search portal of that collection.  Stand-alone texts are always independently accessible through the catalog by searching for the author, title, subject, or by keyword.  Some e-books in e-book collections may be identified either through the "e-books and e-docs" limit on the basic search page or by choosing the "Electronic Books" tab and then searching one of the named collections; others should be searched through their individual search portals. The chief advantage of using the individual portal is that you can always search the full text, which is not the case when you are using the catalog. You can also access electronic books through Onesearch, which can search the full text of some of the book collections.

Contact Us:

Ask a Librarian 

photo of Boatwright library patio

Boatwright Library
(804) 289-8876

library@richmond.edu

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.