Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

ELECTRONIC BOOKS: Using Academic E-books

Using E-Books

Use the dropdown box below to learn more about how to use some of the e-book collections supplied by the Boatwright Memorial Library.

 

 

 EBSCOhost logo EBSCOhost E-Books

**You will be prompted to login to download a book or chapter. This is a free/personal EBSCOhost account that you can use with any username/password.

  Ebsco eBook Collection
Simultaneous User Limit  

Varies by title

E-Book Reader Compatible?

Yes, with specific devices

File Formats Available:   ePUB full text, some available as PDF
How do I get help?

 
To download an E-Book, you will need:

  1. Adobe Digital Editions: Follow the instructions below for installation on your computer.
  2. You will need to have this installed even if you wish to read it on an e-reader device.

To check-out an E-Book with the option to download it later:

  1. Click the Download  link for the e-book you would like to download.
  2. Select a Checkout period from the drop-down menu and click the Checkout & Download button. The e-book will be added to the Checkouts  area of the folder. If you are not logged into your My EBSCOhost account, you will be prompted to do so (requires a free, personal EBSCOhost account).
  3. Select Close once the dialog box reads Success!. The e-book has been added to your account's Folder to be downloaded at a later time.

After you check-out and download your E-Book:

 

Safari logoO'Reilly Books
Technology and computer science ebooks, case studies, videos, and learning paths.

An electronic library of books published by OReilly, Microsoft, Oracle, Pearson, and other IT and business publishers on computer science, information technology, emerging trends, and related fields.; Full-text; 1971 - present. Alternate name: Safari

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used Viewable online; can copy text from pages.
Additional Requirements Before entering your Network ID and password, verify that the URL of this page begins with https://idp.richmond.edu/
How do I get help?

 

 

ALCS logoALCS Humanities e-Book
A collection of scholarly books in many areas of the humanities.

Full-text books; Varies includes both out-of-print and current titles

 

Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by Title

Can filter for Open Access books

 

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No, online only

File Format(s) Used Online viewing only, but allows for text adjusting
How do I get help?

 

 

Proquest logoProquest eBooks
Scholarly, reference, and professional full-text books in electronic format from the world's leading university presses and commercial publishers.

Users can search for individual ebook titles, or search by subject. Limited printing and downloading is available. All titles are included in a UR Library Catalog search. To download books, you will need to establish an Adobe Digital Account. [iOS app] [Android app]; Full-text

 

Simultaneous User Limit   

Varies by Title

Printing/Download Restrictions     Page/Chapter limit; varies per book.
E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF or ePUB (requires Adobe Digital Editions and Bluefire Reader)
Loan Period 1 day
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe Digital Editions 1.7.1 or higher to download book for offline use
How do I get help?

 

To download an E-Book:

  1. Make sure to have Adobe Digital Editions installed and activated with your free Adobe Account.
  2. Once you've selected the "Download Book" option, choose the device you wish to read on.
  3. Choose your download format, PDF or ePUB.
  4. Choose whether to Open with Adobe Digital Editions or Save file to open later.
  5. Click OK.

After you download your E-Book:

 

JSTOR logoJSTOR
Archive of scholarly journal literature.   Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used HTML Text; Downloadable PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    • To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P;Mac: ⌘ + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF"or "Save as PDF"option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    • To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘ + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘ + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.
 

SAGE logoSAGE Publications
Full-text encyclopedias and handbooks, primarily in the social sciences.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

File Format(s) Used HTML text; PDF Download available
Additional Requirements Subjects available: Business & Management, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Education, Geography, Earth & Environmental Science, Health & Social Care, Media, Communication & Cultural Studies, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, and Sociology.
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the full text of the document, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a text (.txt) file. 
    1. To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P;Mac: ⌘ + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF"or "Save as PDF"option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    2. To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘ + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘ + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.
 

Cambridge Histories Online
250 volumes from the renowned Cambridge Histories series, including extensive bibliographies.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text, PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • Within the Contents section of the eBook, you can choose to save select chapters or the whole book. To do so, you must select the parts you wish to download and then choose from the following options:
  • Download PDF (zip)
    • Once downloaded, they will be in a zip format. You will need to right-click on the file and choose "Extract All" to see all available chapters.
  • Send to Kindle
  • Send to Dropbox
  • Send to Google Drive

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.
 

Cambridge Companions Online
Accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. Specially commissioned essays enhance the content of over 500 Companions titles, covering literature, philosophy, classics, religion, cultural studies and music..

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text, PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • Within the Contents section of the eBook, you can choose to save select chapters or the whole book. To do so, you must select the parts you wish to download and then choose from the following options:
  • Download PDF (zip)
    • Once downloaded, they will be in a zip format. You will need to right-click on the file and choose "Extract All" to see all available chapters.
  • Send to Kindle
  • Send to Dropbox
  • Send to Google Drive

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

 

Early English Books Online logoEarly English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used TIFF or PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. From the search results list or Document Images screen in the desired record, click the Add this record to your Marked List check box.
  2. Click the Marked List link on the banner at the top of the page.
  3. For each set of materials you wish to download, click the Download document image sets in PDF format link.
  4. Select the desired document images to include in the PDF or use all images from the document by selecting the appropriate option under the Reel position heading.
  5. Click the blue Download button.
  6. You will be taken to a page that shows the progress in creating the PDF. When the progress bar has finished, use the confirm link below to download the PDF.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.

 

Early American Imprints: Series I
Books on history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel etc. from the Colonial period through the early 19th century. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia. Full-text books, scores, and newspapers; 1639 - 1819.

 

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

Unlimited simultaneous users

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used PDF or TIFF image
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe PDF Reader
How do I get help?

 

 

Early American Imprints: Series II
Books from 1801-1819 published in America on the topics of history, culture, religion, commerce, education, literature, poetry, music, politics, travel, etc. Includes the supplemental material from the the Library Company of Philadelphia.

 

Loan Period 14 days
Simultaneous User Limit   

Unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used PDF
Additional Requirements
  • Free Adobe PDF Reader
How do I get help?

 

 

Oxford Scholarship: Religion
Electronic books of original, peer-reviewed scholarship in all areas of religion and theology.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text, PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book, choose the View PDF button. You will then have to agree to the terms and conditions before the PDF will load for you.
  2. Once you view the book, you can save from your browser to your computer's files. Save it to a known location.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

Oxford Scholarship: Philosophy
 Electronic books of original, peer-reviewed scholarship in all areas of philosophy.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

Yes

File Format(s) Used HTML text, PDF
Additional Requirements You will need a free PDF reader to view full text.
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the item record for the book, choose the View PDF button. You will then have to agree to the terms and conditions before the PDF will load for you.
  2. Once you view the book, you can save from your browser to your computer's files. Save it to a known location.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

Gutenberg-E
Contains ebooks in the field of historical scholarship. Produced by a partnership between the authors and the electronic publishing staff of Columbia University Press.; Full-text; 2002 - present

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used HTML text, PDF
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  • E-Books can only be downloaded in PDF format in chapter increments.
 

18th Century Collections Online
Digital texts of books published in England in several languages between 1701-1800. Coverage from a variety of materials -- including books and broadsides, Bibles, tract books and sermons to printed ephemera -- with works by many well-known and lesser-known authors, women, and collections from the French Revolution.

Loan Period unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used PDF (unprotected) / ePUB / MOBI
Additional Requirements None
How do I get help?


To download an E-Book:

  1. In the book's page view, look for the Printer icon,  link on the left under the Table of Contents.
  2. Download the desired file to your computer or device.

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents.
 

Proquest logoDissertations and Theses (Proquest)
Includes over a million full-text doctoral dissertations and masters theses from institutions around the world.

Loan Period Unlimited
Simultaneous User Limit   

Unlimited

E-Book Reader Compatible?  

No

File Format(s) Used Downloadable PDF
Additional Requirements To view which documents are available for download, Use "Limit To" filter for "Full Text" only.
How do I get help?

To download an E-Book:

  1. For those with full text of the document available, print the page as a PDF or copy the text into a document. 
    • To print the page as a PDF, use your browser's print function (Windows: Ctrl + P;Mac: ⌘ + P). Look for the "Adobe PDF"or "Save as PDF"option. You may need to install extra software to complete this task.
    • To save the text as a text file, highlight the text that you wish to copy and use the copy function (Windows: Ctrl + C; Mac: ⌘ + C). Open a text editor on your computer, such as the pre-installed Notepad on Windows or Text Edit on Macs. Insert the cursor into the new text document and paste the text (Windows: Ctrl + V; Mac: ⌘ + V). Save the file as a plain text file (.txt).

After you download your E-Book:

  • You may read your e-book in any PDF reader or text editor on your computer.
  • You may choose to transfer your e-book to your e-book reader or mobile device, providing that it supports the display of unprotected PDF documents and/or text files.

Downloading Adobe Digital Editions

Adobe Digital Editions: Installing and Using

Get Adobe Digital Editions

Get Adobe Acrobat Reader

Many of our e-book packages require Adobe Digital Editions (ADE), a free extension to Adobe Acrobat Reader. To install and use ADE, follow these steps:

  1. Download Acrobat Reader, if not already installed.
  2. Download Adobe Digital Editions from Adobe's website.
  3. Create an Adobe ID and authorize your copy of ADE (optional)

ADE is pre-installed on Library computers.

An Adobe ID is not necessary to read e-books, but if you are using ADE on your personal computer (not a Library or public computer), Adobe recommends authorizing ADE with an Adobe ID. Your Adobe ID is free and completely separate from your NetID or other UR accounts.

Help with Adobe Digital Editions

 

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.