Visual Resources Librarian - Images, Art, Architecture, Urbanism
Researching Art Materials
-
Art Materials Research and Study Center - National Gallery of ArtThe art materials collection contains more than 18,000 of samples, including a variety of paints, varnishes, and drawing materials. Most of the collection is composed of products manufactured from 1970 to the present, although the collection has several items from the 19th and early 20th centuries. A quest continues to seek samples of art materials that expand the scope and depth of the collection.
-
Material OrderPowered by CollectionSpace (LYRASIS) and co-founded by Harvard University Graduate School of Design and Rhode Island School of Design, Material Order is the leading resource for design materials collections at academic and cultural institutions. Utilizing and developing standards and best practices, the Material Order consortium provides a community-based approach to the management of design material collections with federated search access among participating institutions.
ART
Start here for research help with art, photography, art history or any other art-related topic. Recommended databases are included, as well as information on how to contact the Art Librarian is also here.
Artstor on JSTOR
-
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
-
ARTstor SupportSee this page for help accessing, organizing, sharing, presenting, and citing image content from ARTstor.
Recommended Resources
-
ARTstorThis image collection is made of images from museums, archives, libraries. To view the university teaching collections, search "All Collections" in the image tab.
-
University of Richmond Collections on JSTORThe university JSTOR collections include the Ancient World Gallery, images collections we license, teaching images, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; and architectural design. (EBSCO)
-
A&A ePortal This link opens in a new window
Search for ebooks on the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. (Yale University Press)
-
EAI Educational Streaming Site This link opens in a new window
Access a comprehensive video art collection from the mid-1960s to the present. EAI is a nonprofit arts organization that fosters the creation, exhibition, distribution, and preservation of video art and digital art projects. (EAI)
-
Projectr EDU This link opens in a new windowStream independent, foreign, and documentary films from a variety of distributors. (Projectr EDU)
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
-
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the humanities and social sciences. (EBSCO)
-
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
-
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of digital images sourced from museums, galleries, contemporary artists, and private collections. (Bridgeman Education)
-
The [Oxford] Concise Dictionary to Art TermsBaroque to postmodernism, batik to mezzotint, and canvas to porcelain, this dictionary provides succinct and accessible explanations of over 1900 terms used in the wide variety of visual media that make up the art world.
-
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Search an archive images and descriptive data of medieval art from late Antiquity to the sixteenth century. (Princeton)
Open Access Sources
-
ABE Journal: Architecture Beyond EuropeABE Journal is dedicated to the study of architecture and urbanism for scholars of art, architecture and history. Focusing on colonial and postcolonial aspects of the wider built environment from the
19th century onwards, it also considers issues such as professional networking, the circulation of media, and the transmission of models, technologies and doctrines from and to Europe. Published by the research center InVisu (CNRS/INHA) in Paris, the journal is committed to encouraging a diversity of approaches and methodologies, including cross-cultural and transnational perspectives.
The journal is supported by the French Institute for Humanities and Social Sciences (InSHS), National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS). -
ARCHNETThe Aga Khan Documentation Center at MIT (AKDC@MIT) and the Aga Khan Trust for Culture are pleased to invite you to explore Archnet Next, a new iteration of the largest online library focused on the built environments of Muslim societies. Archnet Next is the first major reimagining of the site since 2013. Archnet Next has been completely redesigned to be more responsive to users in all corners of the world and on all sorts of devices in order to remain the essential reference on the architecture, planning, and landscape design in Muslim societies. Explore and enjoy.
-
Arena Journal of Architectural ResearchAJAR is an online Open Access peer-reviewed journal for all kinds of design research and scholarly research within the architectural field, and has been set up by the Architectural Research European Network Association (ARENA) network. It welcomes the submission of essays by doctoral students and younger researchers as well as by established architects and academics. Content for the journal is organised under 4 sections: Design, Technology, Practice, Humanities.
-
arthistoricum.netarthistoricum.net is the digital platform for the arts. We develop innovative digital tools to support art historical research and to publish research results. Source material, literature and image collections in Open Access complete the arthistoricum.net offer.
-
Beazley Pottery Archive Database"The Beazley Archive is built around the academic papers and photographs of Professor Sir John Beazley (1885-1970), who was Lincoln Professor of Classical Archaeology and Art at Oxford from 1925 until 1956. The Archive contains around 100,000 photographs of ancient Greek (mainly Athenian) painted pottery, as well as relevant books and offprints, extensive material on the history of gem-collecting, and thousands of other documents and photographs relating to classical archaeology and to Beazley's own career. The majority of the Archive's images are available online, but the physical photographs remain a resource of central importance for research on classical art. Every year CARC welcomes researchers from all over the world, who come to examine the photographs and other archival material."
-
British Art StudiesBritish Art Studies is a digital publication and intended to be experienced online. Copy-edited post-production versions of long-form articles are provided as PDF documents for ease of reading offline. Though special features are also distributed in PDF format, we recommend that readers return to the online platform to experience them in their native format.
-
Egyptian ArchaeologyPublished by The Egyptian Society, a UK charity founded in 1882 by Amelia Edwards.,,"Our mission today is to support and promote Egyptian cultural heritage, envisaging a world where the cultural heritage of Egypt is preserved for posterity. The Society supports archaeological research projects throughout Egypt and Sudan."
-
AvalancheThis index describes issues and articles in Willoughby Sharp's magazine intended to be the gallery not in the gallery.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Research Guides:
Citing Images
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.
-
Citing Images - GeneralThis site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
-
Citing ARTstor ImagesThis page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.