Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Requesting Images
Copy images from books and periodicals can be requested via the form linked below. Turn around time is generally two weeks, but it may be shorter. Images will be fully catalogued and delivered via a group in the ARTstor environment. If you have any questions, please feel free to ask.
JSTOR and Local Images/Media
JSTOR is now more than just journals. Via this database you have access to thousands of images, audio, and video (in relation to books and periodicals) related to a variety of disciplines in addition to art, art history, and classics. This is also the place to gain access to our licensed images from Archivision, Inter-American Institute, Scholars' Resource as well as locally produced images for the Teaching Collection. You can also access licensed films in on JSTOR.
NOTE: "Users can create a registered user account when accessing JSTOR from a valid IP address (either on campus or through a proxy server - VPN). Each registered user account allows for one year of Remote Access during which it may be used to access JSTOR from any computer. Each time a user logs in to his or her account from an authenticated IP address, the one-year period is reset."
- Register for free personal JSTOR accountWhile you do not need a JSTOR account to access content while on campus or authenticated via VPN, you do need to have an account to save content to the Workspace. Save and organize sources and notes in your workspace for all types of media delivered via JSTOR.
- Workspace on JSTOR"-Save what you find on JSTOR, including articles, book chapters, images, and primary source materials to revisit anytime
- Organize your research with folders
- Add your own notes to items you've saved
- Export your research as reference lists or presentations
- Present your research in full screen mode
- Share folders with other members of your institution" - How to Download Images from JSTOR to the Desktop*Note - Not all images can be download. Individual contributors determine the download availability and size.
- Faculty Image Order FormFaculty may request images to be made from print media. All images will be catalogued into Shared Shelf (our image database) and published in ARTstor where you can use them with other ARTstor images or download them into PowerPoint presentations or to your local hard drive.
Other Licensed Resources
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new windowSearch an archive of digital images sourced from museums, galleries, contemporary artists, and private collections. (Bridgeman Education)
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- HarpWeek, 1857-1912 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the Harper's Weekly magazine covering the the pre-Civil War through pre-World War I periods in American history. (Alexander Street Press)
- Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for background information on musical cultures of the world's peoples. Each of the 9 volumes are devoted to a specific region, plus a tenth volume on general perspectives and reference tools. The regional volumes contain an overview; a survey of the regional heritage, traditions, and themes; and descriptions of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. (Alexander Street Press)
Citing Images
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.
- Citing Images - GeneralThis site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
- Citing ARTstor ImagesThis page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.
Useful Image-centric Projects
- Medieval Kingdom of Sicily Database"This website was created to collect, host and display images made by travelers, mapmakers, historians, architects and artists of medieval and early modern monuments and cities of Southern Italy. It includes prints, drawings, ground plans and elevations, paintings, photographs, and any other type of image of sites from roughly 1100 to 1450. The image sources include public and private collections, museums, libraries and archives, print books, and online resources."