Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A discovery tool that searches most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings.
Oxford Reference Online > Art & Architecture: Includes the following titles:
Art & Architecture
- The Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
- A Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
- The Oxford Dictionary of Art
- A Dictionary of Modern Design
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
- The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
- The Oxford Companion to the Garden
- The Oxford Companion to the Photograph
- The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
- A Dictionary of Twentieth-Century Art
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art
Cambridge Companions are lively, accessible introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods. All are collections of specially commissioned essays, shaped and introduced to appeal to student readers. Together the chapters add up to a systematic critical account of, for example Plato, Luther, Jane Austen, Tom Stoppard or Stravinsky, the French Novel or Jewish American Literature, and each title is supported by reference features such as a chronology and guide to further reading.
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.
Citing Images - General
This site has a great set of example of how to cite images in your papers.
Citing ARTstor Images
This page will give you instructions on how to save and export citations for ARTstor images you use.
Visual Resources Librarian