Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
LibGuides Menu
Rate This Guide
Welcome
Welcome to the Image Research Guide. There are a variety of topics covered in this guide: searching for images, using your images, storing your images, and copyright. You will also find several links to image collections from around the world devoted to many subject areas in addition to art. If you have any questions concerning the discovery or use of images, feel free to contact me.
Image News
This list represents a few highlights from the more extensive group of links to be found on the "Finding Images on the Web" tab and grouped loosely by subject.
- Nicholas V. Artamonoff Collection - Archaeological Sites in Turkey
- Rijksmuseum Collection
- Rembrandt Database
- National Portrait Gallery, London, England
- Shorpy.com
- Science Photo Library
- New York City Department of Records
- Walters Museum/Wikimedia Commons
- NGA Images - National Gallery of Art, London
- Gothic Past: Gothic Architecture and Sculpture in Ireland
- Public Domain Review
- Real Virtual: Representing Architectural Time and Space (Columbia University)
- Jame J. Ross Archive of African Images, 1590-1920
- NBII LIFE (Library of Images from the Environment)
- CineFiles from UC Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
- Free Publishable Images from The British Museum
- Free High Resolution Images from the Victoria and Albert Museum
- Final Images of Classical sculptures from the Berlin State Museums in ARTstor
- Art and Architecture from Pilgrimage Routes to Santiago de Compostela in ARTstor
- Art, Architecture, and Culture in Southeast Asia and Morocco in ARTstor
- Additional Plans of Ancient and Medieval Buildings and Archaeological Sites from Bryn Mawr
- Ephemera Studies
- British Museum Collection Database
- Matapihi
- Cook's Voyages to the South Seas image in ARTstor
- Brooklyn Museum Costume Collection in ARTstor
- The Svetlana Tomekovic Database of Byzantine Art
- New image database for ceramics and ceramic sculpture - accessCeramics
Ask Boatwright
Citing Images
The following link takes you to a site with great examples of how to cite images using Chicago Manual of style in your papers. You can also consult the Chicago Manual in sections 12.31 - 12.51 for directions on how to write captions and credit lines.


Loading...
