Archive of Early American Images from Brown UniversityGraphic representations of the colonial Americas (including maps), from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.
Beyond the TajBeyond the Taj is a collection of visual and written materials assembled to support instruction and research on South Asian architectural expression in the joint perspectives of architecture and ethnography. The visual core of the collection consists of approximately 7000 photographs of works of architecture, pilgrimage locales and domestic life taken in India and Sri Lanka by Professor Robert D. “Scotty” MacDougall (1940-1987), an anthropologist and an architect.
Billie Jean Isbell Andean CollectionImages are derived from Professor Billie Jean Isbell's research in the Andes, primarily in the southern Andean department of Ayacucho and specifically in the village of Chuschi, Peru, and the surrounding region of the River Pampas Valley in the province of Cangallo.
Carolingian Culture at Reichenau & St. Gall"This website presents digital versions of two of the gems surviving from the monasteries of Reichenau and St. Gall. One is the unique architectural drawing known as the Plan of St. Gall. The other is the extensive ninth-century library collections of the two monasteries, identifiable by their distinctive script. Both of these are complimented by various resources to assist in their study, providing further information about the material and intellectual contexts of Reichenau and St. Gall."
Catena - Historic Gardens and Landscape ArchiveCollection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.
Chinese in California 1850-1925The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials.
David Rumsey Historical Map CollectionHistorical map collection focused on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. The collection includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of separate maps including pocket, wall, children's and manuscript maps.
Digitized Medieval Manuscripts"The DMMapp, or Digitized Medieval Manuscripts app, links to more 300+ digital libraries home to 20'000+ medieval manuscripts! It's easy to navigate and is constantly updated. It is based on our crowd-sourced data that you can contribute to!"
EuropeanaEuropeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana.
French Revolution Digital Archive"The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital version of the key research sources of the French Revolution and make them available to the international scholarly community. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française."
George Catlin: The Printed WorksThis collection contains images from the following Catlin titles: The Manners, Customs and Condition of the North American Indians. Catlin's North American Indian Portfolio; Hunting Scenes and Amusements of the Rocky Mountains and Prairies of America; Adventures of the Ojibbeway and Ioway Indians of England, France, and Belgium; Being Notes of Eight Years Travels and Resdince in Europe with His North American Indian Collection
The Huntington Archive"This digital collection includes more than 40,000 photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand. The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington unless otherwise noted."
Maps of AfricaAntiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich at the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the 15th to early 20th century.
McKenney and Hall: History of the Indian TribesImages from Hisotry of the Indian Tribes of North America, with Biographical Sketches and Anecdotes of the Principal Chief. Embellished with One Hundred and Twenty Portraits, from the Indian Gallery in the Department of War, at Washington.
New York City Department of Records"Welcome to the New York City Municipal Archives Online Gallery of over 870,000 images. Selected from the world-class historical collections of the Archives, most of these unique photographs, maps, motion picture and audio recordings are being made accessible for the first time."
Shorpy.com"The 100-Year-Old Photo Blog. Shorpy.com/Hisotryin HD is a vintage photo blog featuring thousands of high-definition images from the 1850s to 1950s. The site is named after Shorpy Higginbotham, a teenage coal miner who lived 100 years ago." Most images are from the Library of Congress collections.
Wellcome ImagesWellcome Images is one of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
Willard D. Straight in Korea: 1904-1905Willard Straight worked in Korea as a Reuters correspondent during the Russo-Japanese War and as U.S. diplomat. He sketched Japanese and Russian soldiers and Korean people. Over 200 of his drawings, photographs, and postcards offer a rare example of western perspectives on Korea during the early 20th century.
World Images - AfricaAfrica starts with Ancient Africa then shows images of African people and of their diaspora around the world. The arts of Egypt and prehistoric North Africa are followed by Algera, Libya, Tunesia, Ethiopia , East , West and Central Africa.
World Images - AsiaThis section contains images from all over Asia, from China, Central Asia, South Asia, South East Asia, India, Japan, Korea, Tibet, Nepal and the Philippines. In addition to art works there are images of Asians themselves and of their interactions with the west.
World Images - EuropeEuropean art and life starts with the Prehistoric and Ancient worlds, including the Greeks and Romans. It moves on to the Medieval period with Early Christian and Byzantine, Migration and Carolingian periods to Romanesque and Gothic art and architecture. Next the Renaissance in Italy and Northen Europe, the Baroque and Rococo styles focusing on Italy, Holland and France, and finally the 19th century, with an emphasis on the art styles of France.
World Images - Modern WorldThe Modern World contains portfolios showing the arts, the politics and the wars of the 19th and 20th centuries.
World Images - The AmericasThe Americas contains portfolios from the Pre-Columbian period in Mesoamerica and the Andean area. Native American portfolios are divided into Paleo-Indian, Southwestern, PacificCoast and Alaskia, the Great Plains, Eastern and South Eastern images and representations of Native Americans. North American images are divided by century and media, with sections on both North American and Latin American history.
World Images - The Middle EastEuropean interpretations of Middle Easterns are contrasted to contemporary portraits. Then come images of ancient Mesopotamia, the 'land between the rivers' where civilization is thought to have started. Then we see Iran, the Levant and the Arabian Peninsula, These are followed by sections on Jews and Judaism and Islamic art and culture.
World Images - Tools, Technology, Trade & CommerceAll cultures have economic lives, most of which include trade, whether in local markets or between distant places. In many money replaces barter, and coins which themselves are art works. Financial institutions develop to facilitate trade. Technology and industry, and types of transportation are illustrated here.
