Finding Articles
- USDA - PubAgVarious publications and articles on food and food-related topics written by USDA researchers.
*NOTE: You may not have access to articles shown directly through this site, but once you find relevant article titles, search for them via OneSearch or Google to locate freely available full copies.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to business. Also included is some financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses, and more. (EBSCO)
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and more. (EBSCO)
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowSearch for encyclopedia articles, journal articles, news articles, primary source documents, audio, and video on many topics connected to US History. (Gale)
- GeoBase (on Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
Search for peer-reviewed articles in geography, geology and ecology. (Elsevier)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Social Science Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. (ProQuest)
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Top Scholarly Journals
In addition to searching for scholarly articles via library databases, consider going directly to scholarly journals and searching through their records. You can do the same keyword-level searching in a more focused manner. Here are links to some (but not all!) scholarly journals:
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)