Head, Research & Instruction
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Looking for . . . Library Research Guides
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowLimit to BOOKS to search only books available -- this will search for both physical books in the library and ebooks the library has subscribed to or purchased.
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Google BooksThese are digitized books. Most have only a limited portion of their text online, but the full text is searchable and you may find the full text in the UR Library catalog
- Research Guides @ URSearch Research and Subject Guides to locate resources in specific subject areas.
- Research Databases A-ZA-Z list of all UR databases -- use Research Guides to find databases in specific subject areas.
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Google ScholarSearch scholarly pages, articles, white and conference papers.
- Identify and Locate Scholarly JournalsHelpful chart and tips for how to select scholarly journals in Ebsco databases, such as Academic Search Complete from University of Maryland's Library.
- Peer Review in 5 MinutesNCSU Libraries (video)
Research Databases | Moving from Broad to Discipline/Subject Specific
- CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks, journal articles, policy briefs, reports, and case studies on topics related to international politics and policy. The content is written by scholars, research institutes, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), and think-tanks. (Columbia University Press)
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to communication, linguistics, mass media, and journalism. (EBSCO)
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
- Policy File Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for information on public policy issues from think tanks, university research programs, research organizations and publishers, including the Hoover Institution, International Monetary Fund, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, RAND Corporation, and the World Bank. (ProQuest)
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
- Political Science Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to political science, political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics, and non-governmental organizations. (EBSCO)
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles, dissertations books, book chapters, and conference papers on sociology and related topics in social and behavioral sciences. (ProQuest)
- Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Search an index of journal articles in the liberal arts and the sciences. This link cross-searches the Core databases, including Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It's part of the Web of Science platform and can also be used to track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Searching Beyond UR
- WorldCat (Discovery) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. (OCLC)
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for doctoral dissertations and masters theses from institutions around the world. (ProQuest)
Interlibrary Loan: Check the FAQs about Interlibrary Loan on the library's web site. You may submit requests electronically to the ILL office. Articles will be forwarded to you electronically and books will need to be picked up at the Main Service Desk. PLAN for interlibrary loan and make sure you have enough time to receive the materials and use them appropriately for your research.
Streaming Video Sources
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowSearch this streaming video collection of documentaries, educational films, classic Hollywood movies, and world cinema. Note: Not all Kanopy films are immediately available for streaming. For any that are unavailable, please fill out the request form in Kanopy with as much information as possible to convey your teaching or research needs. The library will only unlock videos used for courses and assignments. (OverDrive)
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowAccess documentaries and other educational videos from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, the BBC, National Geographic, HBO Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and more. (Infobase)
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- Docuseek2 This link opens in a new windowStream numerous documentary and social issue films from a variety of companies, including Bullfrog Films and Icarus Films. (Docuseek)
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new windowStream documentaries, performances of various plays, and interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors. (Alexander Street Press)
