It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Covers issues relevant to leadership in the realm of science and technology.
Full-text; 2011; Topics covered include characteristics of science and technology leaders and their environments; leadership in government, higher education industry research; and strategies, tactics, and tools within the various scientific fields.
Explores the contexts in which religious leaders move, leadership in communities of faith, leadership as taught in theological education and training, religious leadership impacting social change and social justice, and more.
Comprehensive reference guide to the most important business leadership principles, theories, tools, and techniques.
Preliminary Research: Defining and Narrowing Topics
Use specialized encyclopedias, handbooks and scholarly books for excellent overviews and syntheses of possible topics. Use bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles for further inquiry.
How to find these sources?
In-depth reports and background information on major current topics and policy issues.
Covering such topics as: social programs, health, social trends, criminal justice, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Complete summaries, pros and cons, bibliographies and background information are included in each report.; Full-text reports; charts; 1923 - present
Narrowing Your Topic
Start by phrasing your subject or general topic in the form of a question.
Then ask yourself further questions about your topic:
What do you know about it? What don't you know?
What interests you about a potential topic? Are you enthusiastic about it?
Think back on previous classes, discussions, programs, readings, etc. Is there an issue or topic from those experiences that can influence your topic choice?
What aspects or viewpoints of your topic interest you? Examples include social, legal, medical, ethical, biological, psychological, economic, political, and philosophical. A viewpoint allows you to focus on a single aspect.
What time period do you want to cover?
What place or geographic region do you want to cover? Examples include national, international, local social norms & values, economic & political systems, or languages.
What population do you want to cover? Examples include gender, age, occupation, ethnicity, nationality, educational attainment, species, etc.
Next, look for resources which provide background information. Some selected general and specialized subject sources can help narrow the topic.
Remember, there are two layers of research:
1) a broad search to discover resources and to read some background information
2) specific searches for information once you've focused your topic.