Reading Scholarly Articles
Think Like A Historian
Head, Research & Instruction
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
Boatwright Library
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
LDST 399 - Junior Honors Tutorial -
Identifying Subjects & Research Librarians
- Use the Research Guides on the library's web site to identify disciplinary databases and resources.
- Look at the LEADERSHIP STUDIES Research Guide for the range of leadership resources.
- Identify from the Research Guides or Subject Librarians who to consult and meet with as you progress in your research.
Background Information
Background - Learning About a Topic: Use specialized encyclopedias, handbooks and scholarly books for excellent overviews and syntheses of possible topics. Use bibliographies at the end of encyclopedia articles for further inquiry.
OneSearch - Search for (Encyclopedia OR Handbook OR Companion) AND X (main topic/discipline) to see if there is a subject encyclopedia, companion, or handbook series for your research area.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Search for concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. These short books are written by experts in the field and cover everything from Vatican II to the Civil Rights Movement to Medical Ethics. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (Oxford)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
Narrowing Your Topic
Start by phrasing your subject or general topic in the form of a question.
Then ask yourself further questions about your topic:
- What do you know about it? What don't you know?
- What interests you about a potential topic? Are you enthusiastic about it?
- Think back on previous classes, discussions, programs, readings, etc. Is there an issue or topic from those experiences that can influence your topic choice?
- What aspects or viewpoints of your topic interest you? Examples include social, legal, medical, ethical, biological, psychological, economic, political, and philosophical. A viewpoint allows you to focus on a single aspect.
- What time period do you want to cover?
- What place or geographic region do you want to cover? Examples include national, international, local social norms & values, economic & political systems, or languages.
- What population do you want to cover? Examples include gender, age, occupation, ethnicity, nationality, educational attainment, species, etc.
Next, look for resources which provide background information. Some selected general and specialized subject sources can help narrow the topic.
Remember, there are two layers of research:
1) a broad search to discover resources and to read some background information
2) specific searches for information once you've focused your topic.
__________________________________________________________
You may also want to consult ideas on the University of Richmond's Writer's Web.
Link to Narrowing Your Topic: 5 Quick Tips