Mapping Tools - UR Databases
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowAccess business, consumer, and market data from a variety of sources, including Neilsen, Simmons, and the Census Bureau. Using this data, you can build reports, export data, and create maps. Choose "Sign in as a guest" or create a personal account in order to save your work. Note: Only 10 users may access this database at one time. (SimplyAnalytics)
EASI Analytic Culture Index (by County) via SimplyMap
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCreate reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
Total Population: White Alone (by Zip Code), 2013 ACS 5-year estimates via Social Explorer
- Social Explorer LibGuidesExcellent resource for tutorials on Social Explorer platform, including curated datasets/maps for different disciplines/research interests.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowAccess a data and mapping resource that combines demographic, health, employment, and socioeconomic data about communities, census tracts, and other regions within the United States. (PolicyMap)
Farmer's markets around Richmond, VA (Source: USDA) via PolicyMap
GIS Data Sources by Location
State-wide
- Virginia Geographic Information NetworkCommonwealth of Virginia's main GIS data hub
- VA Economic Development PartnershipInformation from the VEDP on commonwealth opportunity zones, regional development organizations, and more economic-focused GIS data
- VA Department of Conservation and RecreationGIS data on conservation lands in Virginia
- VA Department of Game and Inland FisheriesGIS data on outdoor recreation, wildlife features, conservation planning, and more
- VA Department of Energy ManagementMaps on Virginia weather and natural disaster preparedness
- VA Department of Environmental QualityAvailable data on renewable energy, pollution, water, air quality, and more environmental factors
- VA Department of TransportationData on commonwealth boundaries, road maintenance, traffic, and trucking, including more specific datasets on bridges, speed limits, and vehicle crashes
- VA Department of ForestryData on wildlife risk assessments, forestland conservation, dry hydrant locations, and more
- VA Department of EnergyInformation on Virginia gas and oil, geologic features, and mining locations
Specific VA Regions
- GIS Data by StateList of GIS data sources by state. Compiled by Purdue University Libraries.
- Data.gov - Geospatial DataSearch results for all geospatial datasets provided by data.gov, the U.S. government's main online open data repository. You can use the left-side to filter down to specific dataset themes and locations.
- ScienceBaseDeveloped by the U.S. Geological Survey, ScienceBase is an online repository of data on a wide range of geologic, geographic, and scientific topics.
- Housing and Urban Development - Dataset Reference GuideHub for datasets related to housing, public transportation, poverty, and income. Data are both downloadable and, depending on the dataset, can be queried within the website to find specific points.
- MIT GeoWebOnline collection of GIS data sources hosted by MIT. Provides a mixture of freely available sources and those that require payments/external login info.
- DIVA-GISAccess to shapefiles for regions across the globe, including finer data points like roadways, boundaries, and other environmental factors.
- Global Administrative BoundariesShapefiles for country boundaries and lower-level administrative divisions of various countries
Additional GIS Data Sources
- World Resources InstituteVariety of GIS data resource formats available for subjects like U.S. bus fleets, global power plant locations, greenhouse gas emissions, and more.
- Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)Data from NASA's Earth Observing Systems Data and Information System (EOSDIS) with the mission to "support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data", acting as an entry point to the intersection of "earth sciences and social sciences". Geographic coverage spans the globe. Data is accessible by region and theme, which includes agriculture, land use, poverty, sustainability, and more. Many datasets directly connect to the United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals as well.
- Free GIS DataWebsite created by Dr. Robin Wilson with links to online GIS datasets, broken down by subject, theme, and region. While the website is regularly updated, please double-check the accuracy and documentation of any data accessed via these websites.
- Online Public Datasets - WUSTLCreated by the Washington University in St. Louis Libraries, this list shows available GIS data websites for individual U.S. states and global regions.
- Humanitarian Data RegistryClick on "View raw" to download Excel (.xlsx) file containing links to various GIS data portals focused on humanitarian research.
- Global Human Settlement LayerRun through the European Commission's Joint Research Centre, the GHSL provides access to population and settlement rasters from across the globe.
- LandScanHosted by the Oak Ridge National Laboratory, LandScan provides raster images of the globe, regularly updating their scans with additional information (e.g. infrastructure).
- U.S. National Park Service - Esri DatasetsShapefiles and other layers produced by the National Park Service for integration directly into ArcGIS products.
- U.S. National Park Service - DataStoreOpen-source data from the National Park Service on subjects like fire ecology, historic furnishings in nat'l parks, natural resource inventories, and more.
- National Historical Geographic Information SystemAccess historic census data from across the U.S.
- Atlas of Historic County BoundariesCreated via the Newberry Library, this database shows the evolution of county boundaries across the U.S.
UR Spatial Analysis Lab
- UR Spatial Analysis LabAccess information about the SAL, ongoing and previous projects, and associated datasets/documents.
Databases that contain maps
- National Geographic Virtual Library This link opens in a new windowThis collection brings together a complete archive of National Geographic magazine along with a cross-searchable collection of National Geographic books, maps, images, and videos. CHOOSE "IMAGE SEARCH" AND LIMIT TO "MAPS."
- Congressional (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowIndex of Congressional hearings, reports, testimony, bills, laws & regulations from the first Congress to the current Congress.
-- LIMIT YOUR SEARCH TO "CONGRESSIONAL SERIAL SET MAPS" ON THE LEFT. - Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 - Virginia This link opens in a new windowSearch large-scale plans of Virginia cities and towns, created to assist fire insurance companies assess the risk associated with insuring a particular property. Map information includes data such as the outline of each building, the size, shape, and construction materials, heights and function of structures, and location of windows and doors. The maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house numbers. (ProQuest)
Need help? Chat with a Librarian
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
