• Chicago Style - Citation Quick Guide - [Part of subscription access available to UR faculty, staff and students] - Includes both Notes & Bibliography and Author-Date examples.

* * * *

 There are 2 styles to choose from when using Chicago:

1. Notes & Bibliography: numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with Bibliography or Works Cited list at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. Your professor may not require that you include a separate Works Cited list if all of the information is included in your footnotes -- but you may be asked to provide a bibliography of all sources consulted.

2. Reference List/Parenthetical (in-text citations) - Author-Date: in your text, brief references are listed consisting of the author's last name, publication year, and page(s) referred to, with an alphabetized Reference List at the end of your paper.  The reference list at the end of your paper provides complete entries for works cited in parenthetical references.

Getting Started

Zotero is a free citation management tool that can automatically import citations into your personal account, organize sources into folders, and generate bibliographies in a variety of citation styles. It also includes a word processor plugin for formatting footnotes and parenthetical citations.

UR Libraries subscribe to Zotero unlimited storage for personal and group cloud storage. Users can create as many research groups as they like, with as many members as they need. Sign-up with your @richmond.edu email to use this storage. 

• Zoterobib is a quick cite tool for citing individual items or creating bibliographies on the fly.
• Zotero downloaded to your personal computer offers the full citation management features and syncs with the web. Zotero web version offers the majority of the features of the download version and syncs with your Zotero library if you have downloaded Zotero.

Learning Resources

• Zotero User Guide

• Zotero Connectors

  The Zotero Connector browser extensions allow you to add items to your Zotero library with the click of a button in Firefox, Chrome, or Safari.

• Zotero Guide | Getting Started

  Research Guide created by Jason Puckett and licensed by Georgia State University Library under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial License.