Courts and Legal Resources and Websites
- United States Courts WebsiteProvides information on the US Federal Court system, including District Courts, Bankruptcy Courts and the US Appeals Court. It also provides statistics, information on judgeships and accessing court records.
- The Federal Judicial CenterThe Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Center was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. §§ 620–629). At left, the Center’s statutory purpose is superimposed on the photo of the Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building in Washington, D.C., where the Center is located. The Center's governing board is chaired by the Chief Justice of the United States. The other Board members are seven judges elected by the Judicial Conference of the United States, and the Director of the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.
- The National Center for State CourtsThe National Center for State Courts is an independent, nonprofit court improvement organization founded at the urging of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Warren E. Burger. He envisioned NCSC as a clearinghouse for research information and comparative data to support improvement in judicial administration in state courts.
- State & Federal Court ResourcesHosted by the U.S. Department of Justice, this site provides links to the various courts and divisions for each state and territory.
- Guide to Law Online: Nations of the WorldIndividual guides with links to official government websites and relevant legal publications for countries across the globe. Created by the Law Library of Congress.
- Global Legal Monitor"An online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources."
- Supreme Court of CanadaThe official page of the Supreme Court of Canada.
- Supreme Court of the United KingdomThe official page of the Supreme Court of the United Kingdom.
- British and Irish Legal Information InstituteBAILII is based at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, where you can find British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material. BAILII thanks The Scottish Council of Law Reporting for their assistance in establishing the Historic Scottish Law Reports project. BAILII also thanks Sentral for provision of servers and Bytemark for provision of hosting services. For more information, see About BAILII.
- Supreme Court of the United StatesThe official website of the Supreme Court, including court opinions, documents & docket.
- SCOTUSBlogSCOTUSblog (SCOTUS = Supreme Court of the United States) provides comprehensive coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court. The blog is provided as a public service and is sponsored by Goldstein, Howe & Russell, P.C. The blog generally reports on every merits case before the Court at least three times: prior to argument; after argument; and after the decision. For the merits cases and the petitions we cover, we provide access to all the briefs.
- The Oyez ProjectThe Oyez Project is a multimedia archive devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and its work. It aims to be a complete and authoritative source for all audio recorded in the Court since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. The Project also provides authoritative information on all justices and offers a virtual reality 'tour' of portions of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of some of the justices.
- American Bar AssociationThis website of the ABA contains information on becoming a member, publications for lawyers, statistical information, policies and more.
- Empirical Legal StudiesThe ELS blog serves as an online forum to discuss and provide links for emerging empirical legal scholarship, provide conference updates, discuss empirical claims that have emerged in public and political discourse, facilitate discussion for guest empirical scholars and assess current empirical findings and methodologies
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
