Provides statistical data on the business of the federal Judiciary. Specific publications address the work of the appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts; the probation and pretrial services systems; and other components of the U.S. courts.

The Appeals Courts Database Project was designed to create an extensive dataset to facilitate the empirical analysis of the votes of judges and the decisions of the U.S. Courts of Appeals. The database was designed to code a random sample of cases since 1925.

Database on the personal, social, economic, career and political attributes of judges who served on the United States Courts of Appeals from 1801 to 2000.

Estimates ideal points for each Supreme Court justice, president, senator, and representative for each year from 1951 to 2011 allowing for comparison of ideology across institutions using a common measure. Also provides Supreme Court and congressional medians for each year from 1951 to 2011. Data in Excel.

The directory includes the biographies of judges appointed since 1789 to the Supreme Court of the United States, the U.S. courts of appeals, the U.S. district courts, the former U.S. circuit courts, and the federal judiciary's courts of special jurisdiction. These judges were appointed by the president, with the advice and consent of the Senate. In addition, the directory includes the biographies of judges who received presidential recess appointments to the aforementioned courts but were not confirmed by the Senate to permanent positions. Includes many biographical elements, including gender, race, birthplace, ABA rating, degree history, and professional synopsis. Full database can be downloaded as .csv file.

With support from the National Science Foundation, Lee Epstein, Jeffrey Segal, and Harold Spaeth, have created this digital archive to house documents from the Harry A. Blackmun Papers located in the Library of Congress. In the archive now are preliminary [pool] memoranda and docket sheets from Justices Blackmun's years on the Rehnquist Court (1986-1993 terms).

The dataset contains 142.036 EU laws - almost the entire corpus of the EU's legally binding acts passed between 1952 - 2019. It encompasses the three types of legally binding acts passed by the EU institutions: 102.304 regulations, 4.070 directives, 35.798 decisions in English language. The dataset was scraped from the official EU legal database (Eur-lex.eu) and transformed in machine-readable CSV format with the programming languages R and Python.
The dataset was collected by the Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS) for the TRIGGER project (https://trigger-project.eu/).

The following pages contain digital images of the notes taken by Justices Harry A. Blackmun and Lewis F. Powell, Jr. while sitting on the bench during oral arguments at the U.S. Supreme Court. Blackmun's personal notes are a part of the Harry A. Blackmun papers housed at the Library of Congress. Powell's papers are part of the Powell Archives at Washington and Lee University.

Contains data back to 1970 on civil case and criminal defendant filings and terminations in the federal courts.

The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the judicial branch of the U.S. government. The Center was established by Congress in 1967 (28 U.S.C. §§ 620–629). At left, the Center’s statutory purpose is superimposed on the photo of the Thurgood Marshall Federal Judiciary Building in Washington, D.C., where the Center is located. The Center's governing board is chaired by the Chief Justice of the United States. The other Board members are seven judges elected by the Judicial Conference of the United States, and the Director of the Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts.

Provides coded information on the content of universes or random samples of the decisions produced by eleven of the top ("High" or "Supreme") courts of the world's judicial systems for extended periods of time. The decisions included in the database are those formally reported in the reporters of record in each country.

Provides data on 81.2 million court cases in India’s lower judiciary between 2010 and 2018, drawn from the country’s e-Courts platform. It’s “the largest open-access dataset on judicial proceedings in the world,” says project coauthor Aditi Bhowmick. The public dataset contains each case’s state, district, court, case type, filing and decision dates, defendant and petitioner genders, legal codes, and more. It “has been fully anonymized to prevent the identification of individual judges or litigants,” but researchers can apply for more extensive access.

This website provides a portal for students and scholars interested in the empirical study of international courts. Most importantly, the site provides access to datasets collected by various scholars.

The Israeli Supreme Court Database is designed to serve as a definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the Court and its work. The Database contains over 70 pieces of information about each case opened by the Court (and decided by a panel of at least three judges) between 2010 and 2018. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the lawyer and parties to the suit, the legal issues in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

The primary mission of the JuRI is to provide a comprehensive access point to the most recent and cutting-edge research on law and judicial politics. At this website, individuals interested in law and judicial politics can download electronic datasets of court cases, obtain smaller datasets or measures of judicially relevant phenomena, read various working papers on important topics, and link to other websites containing law and judicial politics information.

Project by Keith Whittington catalogs all the cases in which the U.S. Supreme Court has substantively reviewed the constitutionality of a provision or application of a federal law, both those upholding and invalidating provisions of federal statutes. Currently includes 1308 cases decided by the Court from its founding through its October 2017 term and related pieces of information about those cases. Data in Excel.

Measuring the relative location of U.S. Supreme Court justices on an ideological continuum allows us to better understand the politics of the high court. October 1937 through October 2020.

This page contains notes that were sent between the U.S. Supreme Court justices while the Court was in session between 1970 and 1993. Most of the notes were passed during the oral arguments of a case, but some (such as the memo from June 30, 1986 pertaining to Bowers v. Hardwick) are from opinion announcement days. There are a few caveats of which users should be aware. First, the notes are never attached to specific cases, but to days (although users can often insinuate which notes pertain to which cases). Second, while the vast majority of the notes are linked to particular days the Court sat in session, some dates were inaccessible. Thus, those memos (five in all) are listed without date.

In order to improve the accessibility of research data on international courts, this website provides an overview of and links to official data sources and datasets made available by researchers, including data compiled by researchers at PluriCourts.

Publishes caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.

The State Supreme Court Data Project created a data base containing information on State Supreme Court decisions in all fifty states during their 1995 through 1998 sessions. This archive contains 21,000 decisions reached by over 400 state supreme court justices seated during those years. In addition to the data on the decisions themselves, we have assembled biographical data from published sources for all justices sitting in 1995 through 1998. Researchers may link the decisional and biographical date with measures of institutional structure and state contextual influences to perform rigorous comparative analyses of state surpreme courts.

The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1953 and 2008 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.

Contains decision-making data on 110,000+ decisions by federal district court judges handed down from 1927 to 2012. The dataset includes coded decisions published in the Federal Supplement, the primary publication venue for U.S. district court rulings. This data is a resource for scholars who conduct quantitative research on the federal courts and complements the U.S. Supreme Court and U.S. Courts of Appeals databases.

This is a multi-user, public database containing information on individuals nominated (whether confirmed or not) to the U.S. Supreme Court (John Jay-Amy Coney Barrett). Specifically, the Database houses 245 variables, falling into five categories: identifiers, background characteristics and personal attributes, nomination and confirmation, service on the Court, and departures from the bench.

Provides over-time and cross-national data on women on high courts. The dataset includes information on the year the first woman was appointed and the gender composition of the high court. High courts include single peak courts as found in many common law countries and constitutional courts and highest appellate courts as found in many civil law countries." Data on first woman: 1946–2020; data on composition: 1970 or court creation–2013. Countries included have a population of 200,000 or greater. Data compiled from a combination of secondary sources and information from countries' courts and judges. Data in multiple formats.