FYS 100 (36): Banned in the USA (Jackson)
Welcome
This LibGuide provides an overview of resources available for research and completing your assignments for your FYS course.
Please contact me using my profile on the right-side of the screen if you have any questions!
Reminder for Library Research Assistance
While Boatwright Library will be partially open during the ongoing library renovation project, all liaison librarians have been moved to The Refectory building on campus. If you need research assistance from Kyle or another librarian, you can either find them in The Refectory, or schedule a meeting with them online.
Not sure where The Refectory is? Click on the following link to open a campus map with The Refectory highlighted: https://maps.richmond.edu/?id=1949#!m/571556?s/refectory
Top Resources
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
-
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new window
Sponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Access nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
-
Books in Print with Reviews This link opens in a new window
Search this database for basic information on books in English currently being printed and sold by publishers. Also included are reviews from magazines like Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, and Publisher's Weekly. (ProQuest)
Research Tips and Tricks
-
Research: Getting Started GuideIntro resources for beginning academic research
-
Library TutorialsTutorials developed by UR liaison librarians focused on specific research skills. Each video features comprehension questions in a pre- and post-test format to check for understanding.
-
Citing Sources GuideExamples of major citation styles
-
Finding Resources: Opinions and EditorialsGuide with resources for locating newspaper editorials, opinion pieces, and tips for evaluating charities and other major organizations
Liaison Librarian
(804)-289-8262
Refectory, Room #143 (during Boatwright Library construction)
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)