FYS 100 (36): Banned in the USA (Jackson)
Top Resources
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowAccess nonpartisan reports and background information on controversial topics and policy issues. These reports were historically written for members of Congress to understand all sides of a particular issue. The reports in this database date from 1923-present. (Sage)
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center) This link opens in a new windowSponsored by the US Department of Education, this database contains journal articles, books, research reports, teaching, and more on the topic of education research and resources. Note: An open-access version is available online for anyone to use. (EBSCO)
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
- Books in Print with Reviews This link opens in a new windowSearch this database for basic information on books in English currently being printed and sold by publishers. Also included are reviews from magazines like Booklist, Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal, and Publisher's Weekly. (ProQuest)
Research Tips and Tricks
- Research: Getting Started GuideIntro resources for beginning academic research
- Library TutorialsTutorials developed by UR liaison librarians focused on specific research skills. Each video features comprehension questions in a pre- and post-test format to check for understanding.
- Citing Sources GuideExamples of major citation styles
- Finding Resources: Opinions and EditorialsGuide with resources for locating newspaper editorials, opinion pieces, and tips for evaluating charities and other major organizations
Liaison Librarian
Kyle Jenkins
He/Him/His
Contact:
kyle.jenkins@richmond.edu
(804)-289-8262
Boatwright Library, Room #183
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
(804)-289-8262
Boatwright Library, Room #183
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)