Agriculture & Food Aid Statistics
- World Food ProgrammeUN organization focusing on distributing food to those in need during times of natural disasters and conflict.
- FAOSTATProvides statistics on food production, consumption, trade and undernourished peoples.
- National Agricultural Statistics Service - USDACollection of data on crops, livestock, farm labor and prices of commodities.
- Virginia Agricultural Data - Virginia Office of the NASSAccess to agricultural statistics of Virginia, including county level information.
Crime Statistics
- Global Terrorism DatabaseVast database covering domestic and international terrorist attacks from 1970 to 2011. Searching can be done by date, region, country, perpetrator group, weapon type, attack type or target type.
- UN Office of Drugs and CrimeInternational reports and statistics on international crime and drug activities.
- US Bureau of Justice StatisticsFind statistics and reports on crime rates & trends, victim characteristics, offender characteristics, incarceration rates, etc.
- Crime in Virginia Annual Report of the VA State PoliceAnnual statistics of crime in Virginia including rates of offenses, arrests, number of police, etc.
- Virginia Crime Rates, 1960 - 2007Basic crime rates of Virginia for the last forty years.
Education Statistics
- OECD Education Statistics - Industrialized CountriesCollection of statistics on enrollment, number of graduates, information on teachers, financing of schools, etc.
- World Bank EdStats Education Statistics - Developing CountriesProvides statistics on education expenditures, projects, attainment and reports by country.
- US National Center for Education StatisticsDefinitive source of US education statistics for primary, secondary and higher education systems.
- VDOE Virginia Education StatisticsCompilation of Virginia education statistics and reports on Virginia schools.
Energy Statistics
- International Energy Agency StatisticsFind energy statistics for developed and developing countries such as energy use, energy sources, use per capita, etc.
- US Energy Information AdministrationOfficial site of US-related energy statistics including energy sources, energy use by building type, environment and historical data.
- Virginia Energy Statistics & Data - EIAEnergy statistics for Virginia from the EIA.
Health Statistics
- World Health Organization Data & StatisticsAccess to a variety of databases on international health indicators, diseases, health and country health profiles.
- World Bank World Development Indicators (WDI)
Development indicators for developing & high-income countries - US National Center for Health StatisticsDefinitive resource of US health statistics.
- VDH Virginia Center of Health StatisticsProvides information on Virginia's vital statistics, health reports, marriage/divorce statistics, popular baby names, etc.
Population Statistics
- International Data Base (IDB) - International Census DataFind population statistics and graphs for every country in the world, including population pyramids, projections & rankings.
- US Census of Population and Housing, 1790 - 2010Digital versions of all US decennial census from the very first to the most recent.
- City Population - Statistics & Maps of the Cities of the WorldProvides demographic and other information on cities throughout the world.
Corruption & Governance Indicators
- Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI)Ranking of the levels of corruption in 180 countries determined by experts and surveys from Transparency International.
- Worldwide Governance Indicators ProjectReports on indicators for 212 countries focusing on accountability, political stability, government effectiveness, rule of law and control of corruption.
- Global Corruption BarometerPublic opinion attitudes and experiences regarding corruption in dozens of countries from Transparency International
- Bribe Payers IndexMeasures the likelihood firms based in the developed world to pay bribes to operate from Transparency International.
Economic & Trade Statistics
- International Economic Statistics Database (IES)Directory and search engine of web resources providing global and foreign country economic statistics.
- World Bank Global Economic Monitor (GEM)
Current economic trends along with economic, financial, and commodity data indicators - US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) websiteStatistics and reports of US economic information such as GDP, personal income, trade statistics, state-level economic information, and industry analysis.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyProvides information on US consumer habits and behaviors.
Election & Democracy Statistics
- ElectionGuideFocuses on current elections, but includes previous elections back to 1998. Developed by a non-profit International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES), the world's premiere election assistance organization.
- International Voter TurnoutMost comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available, covers presidential & parliamentary elections, numbers of registered voters and information of false ballots from The International Institute for Democracy & Electoral Assistance (IDEA).
- Freedom HouseProvides scores, reports and statistics covering democracy and freedom across the world. There are reports on civil liberties, political rights, freedom of speech, freedom of press, and countries transitioning to democracy.
- Failed State IndexRanks the level of political stability in every country in the world.
Environment Statistics
- UN Environment Statistics SectionProvides statistics of UN member countries covering environmental indicators such as land use, water use, emissions, etc. and profiles by country.
- EarthTrends - World Resources InstituteCompiles statistics, maps and profiles regarding a variety of environmental and economic topics.
- EPA - Databases & SoftwareLists the wide variety of databases and environmental models used by the EPA to gather information on US environmental statistics
- VEGIS - Virginia Department of Environmental Quality DataProvides reports, statistics and data on the environment in the Commonwealth.
Labor Statistics
- LABORSTA - International Labour OfficeProvides international information on wages, employment rates, cost of goods, hours worked, etc.
- Databases & Tables - US Bureau of Labor StatisticsCulmination of US labor-related and consumer-related statistics including employment rates, wages, inflation, and historical data.
- Virginia Economy at a Glance - BLSBLS statistics focused on the Virginia Economy including state and metropolitan level data.
- Virginia Workforce CenterWebsite covers statistics on occupations, employment, economic indicators for Virginia to the county and city level.
Transportation Statistics
- iRAP International Transport Statistics DatabaseFind international transport statistics on number of vehicles, emissions, infrastructure, safety, or info by country.
- Transtats - US Bureau of Transportation StatisticsDefinitive statistics on US transportation including air, ship & road transports, infrastructure, costs, energy, safety, etc.
Social Sciences & Humanities Librarian |
Links: Profile & Guides |






Loading...
