Conflict Statistics
- Correlates of WarA collection of scholarly datasets focused on conflict and relations between countries since 1816. Data are organized to examine interstate conflict, intrastate conflict (civil war), countries' intergovernmental organization activities, alliances and diplomatic exchange data, bi-lateral trade agreements, and territorial changes.
- Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP)Provides overviews of every country that has had wars, minor conflicts, non-state conflict and one-sided conflict since 1946. The database is provided by the University of Uppsala's Department of Peace and Conflict Research.
Corruption & Governance Indicators
- Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI)Ranking of the levels of corruption in 180 countries determined by experts and surveys from Transparency International.
- Global Corruption BarometerPublic opinion attitudes and experiences regarding corruption in dozens of countries from Transparency International
- Global Slavery IndexNew index measuring levels of modern slavery in 160 countries, including country study reports.
- Worldwide Governance IndicatorsReports on indicators for 212 countries focusing on accountability, political stability, government effectiveness, rule of law and control of corruption.
Crime Statistics
- Crime in Virginia Annual Report of the VA State PoliceAnnual statistics of crime in Virginia including rates of offenses, arrests, number of police, etc.
- Global Slavery IndexNew index measuring levels of modern slavery in 160 countries, including country study reports.
- Global Terrorism DatabaseVast database covering domestic and international terrorist attacks from 1970 to 2011. Searching can be done by date, region, country, perpetrator group, weapon type, attack type or target type.
- Hall of Justice (Sunlight Foundation)Hall of Justice, a project of the Sunlight Foundation, is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.
- UN Office of Drugs and CrimeInternational reports and statistics on international crime and drug activities.
- US Bureau of Justice StatisticsFind statistics and reports on crime rates & trends, victim characteristics, offender characteristics, incarceration rates, etc.
- Virginia Crime Rates, 1960 - 2019Basic crime rates of Virginia for the last forty years.
Development Indicators
- Human Development IndexRanks countries on the level of human development, such as poverty levels, health, life expectancies, education, equality of genders, etc.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- Gender Inequality IndexRates gender equality for every country, considering female access to education, healthcare, labor participation and political participation.
- GINI Index/Coefficient (from World Development Indicators)The GINI index measures the extent to which the distribution of income (or, in some cases, consumption expenditure) among individuals or households within an economy deviates from a perfectly equal distribution and is reported as a percentage. INSTRUCTIONS: Select a country or countries > then under Series, search for GINI and select GINI Index > then under Time, select the year(s) of interest > click Apply Changes.
- Multi-dimensional Poverty IndexA new measurement of poverty, focusing on elements of education, health and living standards into levels of poverty. Created by the UN and Oxford University.
- Social Institutions and Gender IndexMeasurement of gender discrimination by factoring social and cultural aspects including family code, physical integration, son preference, civil liberties and ownership rights.
Economic & Trade Statistics
- International Economic Statistics Database (IES)Directory and search engine of web resources providing global and foreign country economic statistics.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyProvides information on US consumer habits and behaviors.
- FRED: Federal Reserve Economic DataA database of over 291,000 economic time series from 80 sources.
- US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) websiteStatistics and reports of US economic information such as GDP, personal income, trade statistics, state-level economic information, and industry analysis.
Education Statistics
- OECD Education Statistics - Industrialized CountriesCollection of statistics on enrollment, number of graduates, information on teachers, financing of schools, etc.
- US National Center for Education StatisticsDefinitive source of US education statistics for primary, secondary and higher education systems.
- VDOE Virginia Education Statistics & ReportsCompilation of Virginia education statistics and reports on Virginia schools.
- World Bank EdStats Education Statistics - Developing CountriesProvides statistics on education expenditures, projects, attainment and reports by country.
Elections & Democracy Statistics
- ElectionGuideFocuses on current elections, but includes previous elections back to 1998. Developed by a non-profit International Foundation for Election Systems (IFES), the world's premiere election assistance organization.
- Fragile States IndexRanks the level of political stability in every country in the world.
- Freedom HouseProvides scores, reports and statistics covering democracy and freedom across the world. There are reports on civil liberties, political rights, freedom of speech, freedom of press, and countries transitioning to democracy.
- International Voter TurnoutMost comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available, covers presidential & parliamentary elections, numbers of registered voters and information of false ballots from The International Institute for Democracy & Electoral Assistance (IDEA).
- The Judicial Research Initiative (JuRI)A collection of datasets on court cases from the University of South Carolina.
- Virginia State Board of ElectionsThe VSBE provides information on elections and election statistics.
Energy Statistics
- International Energy Agency StatisticsFind energy statistics for developed and developing countries such as energy use, energy sources, use per capita, etc.
- US Energy Information AdministrationOfficial site of US-related energy statistics including energy sources, energy use by building type, environment and historical data.
- Virginia State Profile and Energy EstimatesEnergy statistics for Virginia from the EIA.
Environment & Climate Data
- Center for International Earth Science Information Network (CIESIN)Links to data sources on all aspects of human interaction with the environment.
- Environmental Dataset Gateway (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)A wide variety of data and metrics available through the EPA.
- Environmental System Science Data Infrastructure for a Virtual Ecosystem (ESS-DIVE)The ESS-DIVE is the primary climate-change data and information analysis center of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Data related to carbon dioxide and other gases. Formerly called the Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center (CDIAC) prior to 2018.
- NASA Global Change Master DirectoryA wide range of data on changes in the natural world.
- NOAA Climate Data OnlinePortal for climate data, including historical data.
- U.S. Energy Information Administration: EnvironmentData and projections related to energy emissions.
- United Nations Statistics Division: Environmental IndicatorsClimate and environmental data from around the world.
- Virginia Environmental Data HubProvides reports, statistics and data on the environment in the Commonwealth from the Virginia Department of Environmental Quality
Food & Agriculture Statistics
- FAOSTATStatistics on food production, consumption, trade and undernourished peoples from the Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations (FAO).
- National Agricultural Statistics Service (U.S. Department of Agriculture)Collection of data on crops, livestock, farm labor and prices of commodities.
- Virginia Agricultural Data (USDA's National Agricultural Statistics Service Virginia Field Office)Agricultural statistics of Virginia, including county level information.
- World Food ProgrammeUN organization focusing on distributing food to those in need during times of natural disasters and conflict.
Geography Spatial Data and Mapping Tools
- Geography Research Guide - Mapping ToolsLinks to the main Geography Research Guide page on UR mapping tools, including Simply Analytics, PolicyMap, and Social Explorer.
Health Statistics
- World Health Organization Data & StatisticsAccess to a variety of databases on international health indicators, diseases, health and country health profiles.
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- US National Center for Health StatisticsDefinitive resource of US health statistics.
- Virginia Department of Health - Division of Health StatisticsProvides information on Virginia's vital statistics, health reports, marriage/divorce statistics, popular baby names, etc.
Labor & Income Statistics
- ILOSTAT - International Labour Office (ILO)Provides international information on wages, employment rates, cost of goods, hours worked, etc.
- US Bureau of Labor Statistics & Data (BLS)Culmination of US labor-related and consumer-related statistics including employment rates, wages, inflation, and historical data.
- US Census Income StatisticsCurrent and historical data on incomes in the United States.
- Virginia Economy at a Glance - BLSBLS statistics focused on the Virginia Economy including state and metropolitan level data.
- Virginia's Career and Workforce Labor InformationWebsite covers statistics on occupations, employment, economic indicators for Virginia to the county and city level.
Music Industry Statistics
- Music ID This link opens in a new window
Search for data on the global music industry, including information on iTunes downloads, Spotify and Apple Music streams, and Shazam searches, as well as contemporary and historical data from charts such as Billboard. This database also tracks the worldwide top earning recordings of the 21st century, revealing the most successful artists, singles, and albums of the last twenty years. (Academic Rights Press)
Population & Demographic Statistics
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Create reports and maps based on US Census data and demographic information. Create an account on the site to save your maps. (Social Explorer)
- World Bank Databases This link opens in a new window
Explore different databases maintained by the World Bank, including the World Development Indicators (WDI) and the Global Economic Monitor (GEM). (World Bank)
- City Population - Statistics & Maps of the Cities of the WorldProvides demographic and other information on cities throughout the world.
- International Data Base (IDB) - International Census DataFind population statistics and graphs for every country in the world, including population pyramids, projections & rankings.
- UN Demographic Yearbook (1948 - current)Annual statistics collected of UN member countries covering population information such as birth rates, mortality statistics, divorce rates, etc.
- The Social Capital AtlasDrawing on privacy-protected data from 21 billion Facebook "friendships," the Social Capital Atlas presents an interactive map of the United States detailing social capital in neighborhoods, high schools, and colleges.
- The Opportunity AtlasInteractive map of the United States indicating places that offer residents the most (and least) opportunities for social mobility and economic prosperity.
Transportation Statistics
- Transtats - US Bureau of Transportation StatisticsDefinitive statistics on US transportation including air, ship & road transports, infrastructure, costs, energy, safety, etc.
Statistics by Subject: Table of Contents
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)