Humanities & Film Librarian
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
WGSS 200: Intro to Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (Skerrett)
Getting started
OneSearch is the library catalog, there you can search almost everything in the library at once- books, media, news sources, scholarly journals, and more.
Library databases are smaller collections of scholarly articles, news sources, images, media and more, which may be organized thematically on different topics.
Google Scholar - a resource for both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. If you are on campus, you will find links to scholarly articles in our databases.
Search Tips:
- Brainstorm a few key words or phrases to help get you started. These could be names or topics.
- Decide what types of resources you are looking for (books, scholarly articles, newspapers, archival sources etc.)
- Use filters like "scholarly and peer review", browse by subject, or adjust the date of publication as needed.
- Look at the library's other research guides on different topics and types of sources such as WGSS, race & law, sociology, and more.
- If you can't find an article or book you need, check out our service called interlibrary loan - we can request materials from other libraries if we don't have them at UR.
Reference Sources
- eBook Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new windowSearch for ebooks that provide a broad overview of many topics. The database includes mostly reference works, such as encyclopedias, almanacs, yearbooks, handbooks, and more. (Gale)
Example: Look up Angela Y. Davis in Oxford Encyclopedia & Gale E-books
- Gale In Context: U.S. History This link opens in a new windowSearch for encyclopedia articles, journal articles, news articles, primary source documents, audio, and video on many topics connected to US History. (Gale)
Example: look up Aileen Clarke Hernandez
Primary Sources & Archives
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowAccess thousands of images from art, architecture, archaeology, decorative arts and design, and visual culture in general. The content comes from museums, individual photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. (ITHAKA)
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
