Humanities & Film Librarian
Nick Dease
He/Him/His
Contact:
Boatwright Library, Rm. 185
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
261 Richmond Way
University of Richmond, VA 23173
804-289-8453
Topical Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowSearch for information that provides perspective on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and NGO, government and special reports. (ProQuest)
- HistoryMakers Video Archive This link opens in a new windowWatch videos of thousands of oral history interviews that highlight the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. (HistoryMakers)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer communities. (EBSCO)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from journals that publish feminist research in areas of sociology, history, political science, public policy, international relations, arts and humanities, business, and education. (EBSCO)
Primary Source Databases
- Everyday Life & Women in America c.1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that offer insights into the daily lives of women during the 19th and early 20th centuries. This database contains books, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides that address political, social, and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes. (AM)
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents on the role of women in movements throughout American history. Documents include publications by State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women (1963-2000), writings of hundreds of black women suffragists (1830-1960), proceedings of the National Women's Anti-Slavery Conventions in the 1830s, publications of the League of Women Voters (1920-2000), and more. (Alexander Street Press)
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources on the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The content dates from the sixteenth century to the present. (Gale)
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search across over 20 Gale Primary Sources archives, including Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Archives Unbound, The Making of Modern Law, and various historical newspapers and magazines. (Gale)
- Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents covering the political, social, and cultural history of North American indigenous peoples from the sixteenth century until the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. (Gale)
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new windowSearch a collection of letters and diaries written from colonial times to 1950 by famous and not-so-famous women from all age groups, life stages, ethnicities, and geographical regions. (Alexander Street Press)
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)
- 19th Century Collections Online: Women and Transnational Networks This link opens in a new windowSearch primary source documents that focus on issues at the intersection of gender and class -- from the late eighteenth century to the era of suffrage in the early twentieth century -- through a European and North American perspective. (Gale)
News
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- Historical Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from 7 national papers (Atlanta Constitution, Barron's, Christian Science Monitor, LA Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post) and 13 historically Black papers (Atlanta Daily World, Baltimore Afro-American, Chicago Defender, Cleveland Call and Post, Kansas City Call, Los Angeles Sentinel, Louisville Defender, Michigan Chronicle, New York Amsterdam News, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Philadelphia Tribune, Pittsburgh Courier and St. Louis American). Full-text dates vary for each newspaper. (ProQuest)
- Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles from hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as transcripts of television and radio news. (EBSCO)