FYS 100 (25/38): Making Poverty History (Traugh)
Welcome
This LibGuide provides an overview of resources available for research and completing your assignments for your FYS course.
Please contact me using my profile on the right-side of the screen if you have any questions!
Reminder for Library Research Assistance
While Boatwright Library will be partially open during the ongoing library renovation project, all liaison librarians have been moved to The Refectory building on campus. If you need research assistance from Kyle or another librarian, you can either find them in The Refectory, or schedule a meeting with them online.
Not sure where The Refectory is? Click on the following link to open a campus map with The Refectory highlighted: https://maps.richmond.edu/?id=1949#!m/571556?s/refectory
Top Resources for Research
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search across over 20 Gale Primary Sources archives, including Archives of Sexuality and Gender, Archives Unbound, The Making of Modern Law, and various historical newspapers and magazines. (Gale)
-
Slavery, Abolition & Social Justice This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources that focus on the varieties of slavery (urban, domestic, industrial, farm, ranch, and plantation), the legacies of slavery, the social justice perspective, and the continued existence of slavery in the twentieth century. Documents include manuscripts, pamphlets, books, paintings and maps. (AM)
Related Research Guides
Check out the research guides below for additional information, resources, and library services to support your FYS research:
Using Basic Library Search Tools
Want more tutorials focused on discrete research skills? Want to review content from the library instruction session? Want to dive deeper into research concepts? Check out the full list of UR Library Tutorials here: https://libguides.richmond.edu/c.php?g=1405019&p=10399570
Class Presentation Documents
Social Sciences Librarian
(804)-289-8262
Refectory, Room #143 (during Boatwright Library construction)
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)