AFRICANA STUDIES
Featured Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- AfricaBibFree website with record links to over 200,000 articles from Africa-focused scholarly journals, including full-text options wherever available. Originally created by David Bullwinkle, AfricaBib is hosted and maintained by Leiden University's African Studies Centre.
- African e-Journals ProjectCollection of eleven open-access academic journals published in Africa made available through Michigan State University's African Studies Center and the MSU Library's digital repository.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Search for articles from US newspapers that chronicle 150 years of the African American experience, including the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, the Harlem Renaissance, the Civil Rights movement, and more. Note: UR has access to Series 1 only. (Newsbank/Readex)
- HistoryMakers Video Archive This link opens in a new windowWatch videos of thousands of oral history interviews that highlight the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements. (HistoryMakers)
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of African HistoryOnline resource that "seeks to cover the entire range and sweep of African history, from the earliest stone tool–using hominids to the most recent religious movements, and from new interpretations of the Mau Mau movement in Kenya to recent reconsideration of the Rwanda genocide and its aftermath."
Class Presentation Documents
Social Sciences Librarian
Kyle Jenkins
He/Him/His
Contact:
kyle.jenkins@richmond.edu
(804)-289-8262
Boatwright Library, Room #183
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
(804)-289-8262
Boatwright Library, Room #183
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)