Online Resources
- Celebrating the Collections of Historically Black Colleges and UniversitiesA collection of digitized primary and archival material from HBCU's across the U.S., including "correspondence, manuscripts, photographs of campus life, alumni letters, memorabilia, and programs from campus events". Created and maintained by the Historically Black College and University Library Alliance.
- Civil Rights Digital LibraryPresentation of historical news clips and connections to digital collections centered on the U.S. Civil Rights Movement of the '50s and '60s. Maintained by the Data Library of Georgia / University of Georgia.
- Digital Innovation South AfricaSite with resources on the "socio-political history of South Africa", including historical collections and links to other relevant archival sources.
- Diversity & Tolerance in the Islam of West AfricaCollection of images, oral histories, archival materials, maps, and more focused on "how Muslims in West Africa accept religious difference and create productive interactions among Christians, Muslims, and practitioners of other faiths". Funding for site provided by Michigan State University and the U.S. Department of Education.
- Research Archives - University of Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South AfricaSite for the UW digital repository, with links to digitized material from a number of important South African archives.
- Umbra SearchNamed after the Umbra Society, a '60s collective of Black poets and writers, Umbra Search presents digitized archival material from over 1,000 colleges, universities, and cultural institutions. Created and maintained by the University of Minnesota Libraries.
- World-Newspapers: AfricaLinks to major continental African news sites and news sources by country.
- AllAfricaNews aggregation site, collecting stories and reports from "more than 100 news organizations and over 500 other institutions and individuals".
- Al Jazeera - AfricaStories published by Al-Jazeera, focused on Africa.
- BBC News - AfricaStories published by the BBC World Service, focused on Africa.
- African Art Information OnlineList of links provided by Stanford Libraries to webpages of African art, African artists, and digital art collections.
- Black Art & Artists in Our CollectionImages of pieces by Black artists held by the National Gallery of Art.
- Hip Hop LibGuideCreated by librarian kYmberly Keeton, this guide has information on how to interpret hip hop through the lenses of visual and data literacy, and resources that speak to "the culture, social issues, and artistic components of Hip Hop".
- Maps of Africa: An Online ExhibitDigitized historic maps of Africa from The Caroline Batchelor Map Collection in the Stanford University Libraries.
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection: Africa MapsMaps of the African continent and its countries, including city-level, topographic, and thematic maps, digitized by the University of Texas Libraries.
- Slave VoyagesA comprehensive collection of data on the trans-Atlantic and intra-Amerian slave trade, featuring maps, timelapses, and other informative data visualizations.
- W.E.B. DU Bois's Data Portraits: Visualizing Black America - The Color Line at the Turn of the Twentieth CenturyEbook from the University of Richmond collection that showcases the pioneering infographics produced by W.E.B. Du Bois for his exhibition at the 1900 Paris World Fair, focused on the life and experiences of African Americans.
Historical Research Writing Guides
- Reading, Writing, and Researching for HistoryExcellent discussion of reading/analyzing primary and secondary sources, how to structure history papers, and refining your thesis by "[asking] good questions". Content developed by Patrick Rael, Professor of History at Bowdoin College, published as "Reading, Writing, and Researching for History: A Guide for College Students".
- Learning to Do Historical Research A Primer for Environmental Historians and OthersIn-depth discussion of historical research and writing practices, covering use of sources, taking notes, and "arguing and telling stories". From environmental historian William Cronon.
- Writing Historical Essays: A Guide for UndergraduatesQuick breakdown of structure for historical essays, and moving from your first draft through the revision process. From Rutgers University Department of History faculty.
- A Step-by-Step Guide to Doing Historical Research [without getting hysterical!]Discusses basics of historical argumentation and analysis, as well as a breakdown of developing a thesis. Material adopted from Gale Publishers, published through NC State University.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)