HIST 199: From Champlain to Napoleon - The Early French Empire (Watts)
Featured Library Databases
While these aren't the only library databases you will (or rather, should) use for your course research, they are great starting places for scholarly, primary, and secondary sources. Find additional information on different databases and source types in the left-hand menu.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
- Colonial State Papers This link opens in a new windowSearch thousands of hand-written primary source documents and indexes that document colonial history from the earliest English settlements in North America, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, slave trade, and English conflicts with the Spanish and the French. (ProQuest)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
Using Basic Library Search Tools
Want more tutorials focused on discrete research skills? Want to review content from the library instruction session? Want to dive deeper into research concepts? Check out the full list of UR Library Tutorials here: https://libguides.richmond.edu/c.php?g=1405019&p=10399570
Related Research Guides
Check out other UR research guides for additional information and relevant resources:
Library Presentation Documents
Social Sciences Librarian
(804)-289-8262
Boatwright Library, Room #183
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)