It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Full-text; 1990s - present
In the beginning of your research, it's helpful to learn just enough about the topic to get a basic overview. When we start out, we don't know enough yet to really dive into the details so we often turn to Wikipedia. We can gain a lot of information from encyclopedias, dictionaries, and short biographical profiles (which we call reference sources), before turning to lengthier books and scholarly articles. You can find our reference resources listed on our databases page, or by searching the library catalog Onesearch using the filter for "reference entries".
Photos and images from The Associated Press and its partner companies.
Excellent resource for illustrations, copyright free for educational use. Can search by concept (hostages) as well as specific people or events (Einstein).; Photographs, prints, graphics, audio and text; Coverage back to the 1800s, primary coverage late 20th century-present
Full web access to The New York Times and NYT Archive from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. In order to access NYT content, UR students, faculty, and staff must redeem a code which will provide them with 26 weeks of uninterrupted access to NYTimes.com.
Full-text of major newspapers with separate resources for environment, government, statistics, and legal information
Online access to current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world. Full-text of legal materials (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). Congressional information back to 1789.; Full-text; Varies by title; 1980 - present
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from the Associated Press on a continuous basis, including AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports.
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present
Provides full-text articles, papers and books relating to political science
Full-text; Major resource for scholarly research relating to political theory, political behavior, public policy, law, international relations, comparative politics and non-governmental organizations.
Scholarly articles can help us provide more context to our journalistic research. Maybe we need a sociological study about income inequality or a medical journal article to talk about the pandemic for instance. What do we mean when we say "scholarly sources"?
Scholarly writing or academic scholarship tends to come from people (like your professors) producing knowledge and engaging in conversation with fellow scholars in their field.