It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locate 1 news article or 1 scholarly article related to a topic you are interested in exploring in this course. Use one or more of the library's databases and Onesearch so you can become familiar with the search process. Do not use Google Scholar or Google so you can familiarize yourself with the library's tools.
Answer the following:
What database(s) did you use to find your article?
What search terms/key words did you use?
Did you use filters in your search (like adjusting the timeframe, looking for only peer-reviewed articles, etc.)?
Full web access to The New York Times and NYT Archive from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. In order to access NYT content, UR students, faculty, and staff must redeem a code which will provide them with 26 weeks of uninterrupted access to NYTimes.com.
Provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from the Associated Press on a continuous basis, including AP Top News, WorldStream, Financial News, AP Online, U.S. Politics & Government and 50 State Reports.
Current and archived full-text articles from thousands of U.S. and global news sources and news video clips.
Search a single newspaper, a select group of titles, or the entire collection. Use the map-based interface to search publications within a region.; Full-text and video; Varies by title; new content added daily
Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Broadest resource of scholarly research on human cultural, social, environmental and political behaviors
Covers a variety of social sciences including: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Economics, Environmental Studies, Ethics, Family Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Gerontology, International Relations, Minority Studies, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Psychology, Public Welfare, Social Work, and Sociology.; Full-text, abstracts, and citations; Full-text & abstracts: 1995 - present; Citations: 1907 - present