It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library databases for biochemistry & molecular biology
Use online databases to locate references to journal articles, book chapters, books, and more. Most online databases provide abstracts but many will also link you to full-text resources. Use Journal Locator to determine which journal titles you may access at UR.
Comprehensive reference database covering life sciences journal literature.
Includes abstracts from peer-reviewed academic journal articles in the fields of biology, biochemistry, biotechnology, botany, pre-clinical and experimental medicine, pharmacology, zoology, agriculture, and veterinary medicine.; Citations and abstracts; 1985 - present
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals. Also encompasses those areas of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering needed by health professionals and others engaged in basic research and clinical care, public health, health policy development, or related educational activities. Covers life sciences vital to biomedical practitioners, researchers, and educators, including aspects of biology, environmental science, marine biology, plant and animal science as well as biophysics and chemistry.; Citations and abstracts; 1946 - present
Citation and keyword index to scholarly journals in the liberal arts & sciences
Comprehensive citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as international proceedings coverage. The database covers approximately 160 disciplines ranging from Agriculture to Zoology.; Citations and abstracts; 1976 - present; Includes Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index and Science Citation Index Expanded.
Comprehensive research tool used to locate and process information on a wide variety of chemistry-related topics. Users must register for an individual login.
The electronic version of Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar allows structure, substance, and patent searching as well as citation searching in chemistry, the biomedical sciences, physics, engineering, materials science, and agricultural science. Includes Medline.; Citations and abstracts; patents; structure, spectral data
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Literature reviews prepared annually providing an overview of primary research material within the Biological, Medical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
Electronic access to the reviews with links into Medline and Web of Knowledge from the bibliographies; Full-text: 1996 - present; Table of Contents: 1986-1995
Background Information & Key Reference Works in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
Use encyclopedias and dictionaries to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, and definitions. Articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics:
AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
REF Q121 .M3 2007
Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology REF QH575 .D55 2013
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology
REF QR9 .S56 2006
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry REF QD415 .A25 E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Genetics
REF QH427 .E532 2002
Encyclopedia of Immunology
REF QR180.4 .E53 1998
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
REF QR9 .E53 2009
Facts on File Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology
REF QH575 .F33 2003