Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Websites with Links to Other Sources
- Univ. of Chicago Library Classical Studies LinksSites of Interest for Classics and Related Fields. The rest of their research guide suggests other useful resources.
- TOCs-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to ClassicistsThis lists the articles published in journals of classical studies and related subjects.
- PerseusDigitization project for ancient texts, including full text of classical Greek authors in English translation and the original (romanized) Greek. Includes searchable full text access to the Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites.
- LacusCurtius: Into the Roman WorldSite has a Roman gazetteer and links to many classical texts and older scholarly works.
- Bryn Mawr Classical ReviewContemporary reviews of scholarly works (1990 to the present) in classical studies including archaeology.
- ABZUAbzu is a guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
- Corpus Scriptorum RomanorumA digital library of Latin literature
- ORBIS The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman WorldORBIS reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity.
- The Ancient World OnlineSponsored by The Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, this site brings together a range of links to open access journals, scholarly projects, lectures, and digitized resources.
- Index to Aufstieg und Niedergang der Römischen WeltANRW is a work of international cooperation in the field of historical scholarship. Its aim is to present all important aspects of the ancient Roman world, as well as its legacy and continued influence in medieval and modern times. Subjects are dealt with in individual articles written in the light of present day research. You can do keyword searches to identify topics in the print encyclopedia.
Primary Sources
- Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new windowAccess a collection of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. (Harvard)
- Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new windowAccess philosophical and theological documents written by the Latin Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database is essentially a complete version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina. (ProQuest)
- Patrologia Graeca This link opens in a new windowAccess Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439. This database contains the writings of church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. Note: Search the index for specific content. (Religion and Technology Center, Inc.)
- Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina This link opens in a new windowSearch for Latin texts written from classical antiquity to the Middle Ages to the present. (De Gruyter)
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new windowSearch for Latin words in this dictionary that covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. (De Gruyter)
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window*Create an account to access the full corpus of the database. Access a collection of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Note: The database has been designed as a searchable linguistic database, not a browsable library. (University of California)
- Corpus Medicorum Graecorum/LatinorumThe Corpus Medicorum Latinorum (CML) presents the extant writings of all Latin medical authors from the 1st to the 5th century AD in historical-critical editions.
The CMG is tasked to produce critical editions of the extant writings of all Greek medical authors from the 5th century BC to the end of classical antiquity and with publication of texts of Greek origin that have survived only in medieval Arabic and Latin translations.