Humanities Librarian
Marcia Whitehead
Contact:
Boatwright Library
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Subjects: American Studies, Biography, Book Reviews, Citing Sources, Classical Studies, E-Books, English & Literature, First Year Seminar, French, German, Humanities, International Education, Language and Linguistics, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures, Latin American, Latino, and Iberian Studies, Master of Liberal Arts, Primary Resources, Reference Sources, Rhetoric & Communication Studies, Richmond Area , Russian, Scholarly Publications, Spanish, Special Topics
Most Important Subject Research Databases
- L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles relating to all aspects of the Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations, including history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy. Note: Only two users may access this database at the same time.Help screens: http://cpps.brepolis.net/aph/manual/aph_en/pages/aph_en/rhe_1_en.html
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the humanities. (EBSCO)
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to all major fields of philosophy. (EBSCO)
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to fine, decorative and commercial art; architecture; and architectural design. (EBSCO)
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowSearch for biographies, overviews, and critical analysis of literary topics, authors, and their works. (Gale)
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric/composition, and folklore. (EBSCO)
- Dissertations and Theses Global (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowSearch for doctoral dissertations and masters theses from institutions around the world. (ProQuest)
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles in the area of religion and theology. ATLA stands for "American Theological Library Association." (EBSCO)
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from legal journals and law reviews. Government documents from each branch are also available in this database. (HeinOnline)
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on all aspects of world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to the present. (EBSCO)
- MathSciNet This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to the mathematical sciences. (American Mathematical Society)
- Education Research Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to education, including all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. (EBSCO)
Classical Studies Journals at UR
This is a list of all the journals and ebooks on Greek and Latin literature, history, and archaeology at UR.