Humanities Librarian
28 Westhampton Way
804-289-8823
Electronic Encyclopedias
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Athens by ISBN: 9781108484558Publication Date: 2021-02-18This Companion is a comprehensive introduction the city, its topography and monuments, inhabitants and cultural institutions, religious rituals and politics. Chapters link the religious, cultural, and political institutions of Athens to the physical locales in which they took place.
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient Rome by Call Number: electronic bookISBN: 9780521720786Publication Date: 2013-08-29
- Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new windowSearch these ebooks (often spanning multiple volumes) that provide both a broad and deep overview of historical eras and ideas. (Cambridge)
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for background information on a variety of topics published in the Oxford series of reference books. Find information on topics in the arts, sciences, history, language and literature, and more. (Oxford)
- Grove Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on most aspects of the visual arts (painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography) from prehistory to the present. (Oxford)
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on all genres of music and musicians (best for classical and jazz). The database does include dictionaries like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, among others. (Oxford)
- Lexicon of Greek Personal Names"(LGPN) traces every bearer of every name, drawing on a huge variety of evidence, from personal tombstones, dedications, works of art, to civic decrees, treaties, citizen-lists, artefacts, graffiti etc.: in other words, from all Greek literary sources, documentary sources (inscriptions and papyri), coins, and artefacts"
- Thesaurus Linguae Latinae This link opens in a new window
Search for Latin words in this dictionary that covers all the Latin texts from the classical period up to about 600 A.D. (De Gruyter)
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
*Create an account to access the full corpus of the database. Access a collection of Greek literature from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Note: The database has been designed as a searchable linguistic database, not a browsable library. (University of California)
Online Collections with Volumes Devoted to Classical Topics
- Oxford Handbooks OnlineThe Classical studies collection includes more than 25 volumes and 1,000 articles on topics related to the ancient world.
- Cambridge Compamions: ClassicsOffers thousands of comprehensive and accessible essays on major authors, periods and genres, written by experts.
- Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Search for concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. These short books are written by experts in the field and cover everything from Vatican II to the Civil Rights Movement to Medical Ethics. Note: Only 5 users may access this database at one time. (Oxford)
- Brill's Companions to Classical StudiesMost of this are on the Brill publisher's website, but there are a few on the Ebsco platform. The catalog will provide the correct link for each type.
Print Encyclopedias
World Eras. Volume 6: Classical Greek Civilization 800-323 B.C.E.
REF D 20 .W67 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (7 volumes)
REF DE 5 .O95 2010
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece
REF DF 16 .E52 2006
Oxford Classical Dictionary. 4th ed.
REF DE 5 .O9 2003
The Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1990s
REF NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Gods and Heroes in Art
N7760 .I4713 2003
Guide to Research in Classical Art and Mythology
N7760 .V3 1991
Paulys Realencyclopadie der classischen Altertumswissenschaft.
DE5 .P33
You can use the New Pauly online!
Oxford Handbook of Roman Studies
DG 209 .O94 2010
Aufstieg und Niedergang der Romischen Welt; Geschichte und Kultur Roms im Spiegel der Neuren Forschung
DG 209 .T36
- Oxford Classical Dictionary Abbreviations ListThis standard list is used in several sources that do not always include the list itself.
- Searchable index of volumes of ANRW published online, to date.The text is not online, but this index can make it easier to search the print volumes.