Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use the indexes below to find articles on music topics. If the article that you want isn't available online, click "Locate It" to see if we have the journal in our print collection. If all else fails, you can request a copy via Interlibrary Loan by clicking the "submit a request" link or going to our ILL web page
Popular Music Studies Database
A searchable database of articles and books (no full text) based on a bibliography by Philip Tagg (University of Montreal), one of the most influential scholars of popular music studies.
Media History Digital Library
A free online resource, featuring millions of pages of books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
Scholarly Music Journals on the Web (free access)
Directory of Open Access Journals
Links to open-access journals in the field of music
British Postgraduate Musicology
An independent, peer-reviewed musicological journal run by postgraduates for postgraduates.
Chapter & Verse
International journal of popular music and literature studies
Critical Studies in Improvisation
Focuses on improvisation, community, and social practice.
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate musicology students at UCLA.
A peer-reviewed multimedia web journal
Journal of Experimental Music Studies
An online peer-reviewed journal devoted to experimental, systems and minimal, and ‘new’ tonal and postmodern music.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy
A bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
Published by the Society for 17th-Century Music to provide a refereed forum for scholarly studies of the musical cultures of the 17th century
Music and Politics
Subject matter includes the impact of politics on the lives of musicians, music as a form of political discourse, and the influences of ideology on musical historiography.
Music Theory Online
The electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory
Performance Practice Review
A peer-reviewed journal devoted to the study of Western musical performance practices in all historical periods.
Popular Musicology Online
A refereed academic journal with an international advisory panel of leading popular musicologists. An innovative voice in the development of critical approaches to the field, intended for all scholars of popular music, whatever their discipline.
Produced by the International Centre for Music Studies at Newcastle University (UK) to provide a forum for progressive thinking across the whole field of musical studies.
Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy
Voices seeks to nurture an inclusive international profile of music therapy and will encourage contributions from every continent.