Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WHERE TO START
To get an overview of a jazz topic, try Grove Music Online. It gives background information and bibliographies.
All Music Guide is another good place to look for information about jazz artists and genres.
Eddie Meadows' book, Jazz Scholarship and Pedagogy, is an annotated bibliography of books, recordings, videos, and websites.
USING ONESEARCH FOR JAZZ RESEARCH
In addition to searching for proper names, it can be helpful to enter subject terms into OneSearch
||ENTER THIS TERM:
|Biographies of jazz musicians
|Jazz scholarship (any period)
||Jazz Analysis, Appreciation OR
||Jazz History and Criticism
|Jazz scholarship (specific decade)
||Jazz 1931-40 History and Criticism OR
||Jazz 1951-60 History and Criticism, etc.
|Jazz methods books
||Jazz Instruction and Study
||Music Fake Books
||Jazz Musicians Interviews
|Playalongs (Jamey Aebersold, etc)
JOURNAL ARTICLES ON JAZZ TOPICS
Use the journal indexes below to find articles on jazz topics. The Music Periodicals Database has the broadest coverage, with many full-text articles. JSTOR offers recent scholarly articles in many subject areas. RILM Abstracts contains only scholarly material, including dissertations and conference papers.
WEBSITES FOR JAZZ
All About Jazz
A comprehensive portal featuring news, reviews, profiles, and forums, plus monthly venue schedules for the NY metro area.
Institute of Jazz Studies
Located at Rutgers University, this is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz materials in the world.
Center for Jazz Studies
A unit of Columbia University that offers classes, exhibitions, lectures, performances, and scholarly resources in jazz studies.
Home to the Duke Ellington Archive, Jazz Appreciation Month, the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra, and an online youth education curriculum.
Celebrates jazz and jazz musicians in Richmond, Virginia, and makes it easy to find them.
Jazz at Lincoln Center
Its NYC venue houses performance space and the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame. Sponsors "Jazz in the Schools" and other educational activities.
Chicago Jazz Archive
A University of Chicago site focusing on a variety of local jazz musicians and styles.