Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
From the Sibelius Academy in Finland
From Brigham Young University. Includes a searchable bibliography of music and dance reference sources (both online and print formats).
Archives of Music Organizations
Business, Data, and the Music Industry
Composers Datebook from American Public Media
Includes a daily list of important events in music history
Composer Diversity Database
A database of music by composers other than straight, white, cisgender males, searchable by a wide variety of fields.
Music by Black Composers
Violinist Rachel Barton Pine's extensive collection of resources to spread awareness of and access to music by Black composers
African American Composer Initiative
Presents the works of living and historical African American composers in concert, shares video of these live concerts online, and commissions new compositions.
Living Composers Project
Information about the music of our time, verified by the composers themselves
New Music USA Online Library
A searchable database to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on contemporary American composers.
Biographical, bibliographical and media information concerning composers whose music was banned during the years of Nazi oppression in Europe.
Lots of information, including audio, about African, African-American and Afro-European classical musicians.
Digital Bach Project
Explore Bach’s B-minor Mass and Goldberg Variations through graphics, video, and text as the score unfolds.
John Cage | A Living Archive
The NY Public Library's "John Cage Unbound: A Living Archive" is an online record of John Cage's work and its evolving impact on music and performance.
Hoagy Carmichael Collection -- IU Digital Library Program
Catalogs and digitizes every item in Indiana University's collections pertaining to the life and career of songwriter "Hoagy" Carmichael.
Combines three major resources: the Annotated Catalogue of Chopin's First Editions, Chopin's First Editions Online, and the Online Chopin Variorum Edition
Glenn Gould Archive
This site was developed by Library and Archives Canada, which is the official repository for the archives of the late concert pianist, Glenn Gould.
The Works of Guillaume de Machaut
A collaborative, cross-disciplinary project involving the Universities of Exeter, Amsterdam, Clemson, Youngstown State, and City University of New York.
Morales Mass Book
An open-access companion site to the First Book of Masses by Cristóbal de Morales (ca. 1550-1553).
Neue Mozart Ausgabe: Digitized version
Digitized version of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe, the critical edition of Mozart's works.
Full text of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's correspondence in a searchable database.
Website of the Richmond-area composer
Complete Marches of John Philip Sousa
The U.S. Marine Band offers free downloads of audio recordings, full scores, complete sets of instrumental parts, and more
Dictionaries and Glossaries
Education / Teaching Resources
Graduate Programs in Musicology
From the American Musicological Society
Free music lessons (via QuickTime video, MP3 audio, and .pdf text/music notation) by faculty members at the Berklee College of Music.
Music Theory Examples by Women
A database of excerpts and complete musical compositions by women composers. The music is categorized by theoretical concept for use in music education.
Global Music / World Music
Institute of Jazz Studies
Located at Rutgers University, this is the largest and most comprehensive library and archive of jazz materials in the world.
Center for Jazz Studies
A unit of Columbia University that offers classes, exhibitions, lectures, performances, and scholarly resources in jazz studies.
Home to the Duke Ellington Archive, Jazz Appreciation Month, the Smithsonian Jazz Masterworks Orchestra, and an online youth education curriculum.
Jazz at Lincoln Center
Its NYC venue houses performance space and the Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame. Sponsors "Jazz in the Schools" and other educational activities.
Chicago Jazz Archive
A University of Chicago site focusing on a variety of local jazz musicians and styles.
A Canadian site that offers free video samples of international and Montréal / Québec jazz artists, with the consent of the artist or producer.
Real Book Songfinder
A comprehensive index of all the songs in 26 volumes of Real Books (as of March 2016)
Manuscripts and Early Editions: Comprehensive Collections
The digital portal of the Bibliothèque nationale de France.
Digitized materials from the national libraries of Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, Panama and Portugal
Huge catalog of print and manuscript materials held in libraries and archives throughout Italy. Includes digital images and multimedia.
Music Treasures Consortium (Library of Congress)
Provides online access to the world's most valued music manuscripts and print materials, held at the most renowned music archives, in order to further research and scholarship.
Rare Book Room
A portal to digitized rare books and manuscripts at a variety of sites. Enter MUSIC in the search box.
Virtual Library of Musicology
The Bavarian State Library's central portal for music and musicology, allows you to access an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources.
Books About Music Before 1800
Over 2,000 pre-1801 publications about music held by the Library of Congress.
Manuscripts and Early Editions: Specialized Collections
British Library Online Gallery of Music Manuscripts
Sample pages from nine well-known music manuscripts in the British Library's collections
Digital Image Archive of Medieval Music
From the University of Oxford and Royal Holloway University of London. Registration (free of charge) is required for access to the images.
10th-16th Century Liturgical Chants
Over 50 Roman Catholic chant manuscripts (e.g., antiphonaries, graduals, processionals, etc.) belonging to the Library of Congress
Early Music Online
Over 300 of the world’s earliest surviving volumes of printed music, held in the British Library, have been digitised by the Royal Holloway University of London.
English Broadside Ballad Archive
The University of California's online collection of 17th-century broadside ballads.
Ignaz Pleyel Early Editions
From the University of Iowa
Music for the Masses
Website for an exhibit of illuminated choir books at the Getty Museum in Los Angeles.
Old English Songs
Digital scans of an 18th-century bound manuscript now owned by the University of Kentucky.
Parker Library on the Web
Rare medieval and Renaissance manuscripts, plus early printed books, from the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge
New York Philharmonic Digital Archive
Online access to the archives of the New York Philharmonic Orchestra. One of the longest running, highly detailed collections documenting all the activities of a single cultural institution.
Manuscripts and Early Editions: Catalogs
An on-line, searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte (1829-1900), establishing what was published where and when during that period.
New York Public Library Music Finding Aids
Searchable guides to selected archival and manuscript collections in the Music Division of The New York Public Library.
Pazdirek's Universal-Handbuch der Musikliteratur
1904 catalog of all musical editions known by its authors to be in print at that time.
U.S. RISM Themefinder
Provides information about 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts in libraries and archives across the U.S. Users can search by musical incipit as well as other criteria.
RISM UK and Ireland
Provides information about 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts in libraries and archives across the UK and in Ireland.
Music Images and Iconography
The RIdIM database is designed to facilitate discovery of music, dance and theatre iconography images by registered researchers, and the description of such images by registered cataloguers.
Dayton C. Miller Musical Iconography Collection
From the Library of Congress comes an online collection of about 120 prints, mostly of wind instruments, but also keyboard, string, percussion, and exotic instruments.
Music Notation and Printing
Music Printing History
A guide to the history of music printing, from Rosendo Reyna, a music theory and performance instructor who also works as an independent music engraver.
Idiot's Guide to Square Notes
A helpful guide to reading neumes, the original notation of plainsong (liturgical chant).
An on-line, searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte (1829-1900), establishing what was published where and when during that period.
Noteflight: Online Music Notation Software
Online music writing application that lets you create, view, print and hear music notation in your web browser. Work on a score from any computer on the Internet, share with other users, or embed into your own pages.
Music Notation Staff Paper PDF Generator
Interactive pdf generator lets users select the paper size, staff count, and line weight.
A variety of predetermined sizes and formats
Opera and Musical Theater
Provides links to hundreds of online opera libretti. Many do not include English translations.
Index to Opera and Ballet Primary Sources Online
BYU's ongoing project aimed at indexing free online primary sources related to various forms of dramatic music in a wide variety of formats.
Met Opera Database
A searchable database of casts, composers, operas, and other performance information related to the history of the Metropolitan Opera.
Offers schedules of opera companies and performers, news and reviews, and links to other opera sites.
A guide to all aspects of musical theater, from John Kenrick, author and Communications Director of the York Theatre Company
Sometimes the best websites in this area are sponsored by commercial enterprises or dedicated fans. Double-check your findings whenever possible.
All Music Guide
An enormous site that includes biographies and discographies of musicians in all genres.
Birthplace of Country Music Alliance
Dedicated to the crucial role played by artists from East Tennessee, Southwest Virginia, and the southern Appalachian region in country, bluegrass, and other musical avenues.
The Crooked Road: Virginia’s Heritage Music Trail
Online guide featuring Southwest Virginia's bluegrass, Old Time, and traditional country music, as well as Appalachian culture.
Folk Music Index
Citations of print and recorded sources for folk music.
Search for folk tunes by title, melody (using an onscreen "piano" keyboard), or contour. You can also browse its 200,000+ entries.
Facilitates and encourages the pursuit of knowledge, art, culture, and responsible leadership through Hiphop.
Rap Genius: Discover the Meaning of Rap Lyrics
A crowdsourced website that breaks down text with line-by-line annotations, added and edited by anyone in the world (consider yourself warned).
Scholarly Music Journals on the Web (free access)
Blue Mountain Project
Princeton University's digital thematic research collection of art, music and literary periodicals published between 1848-1923
British Postgraduate Musicology
An independent, peer-reviewed musicological journal run by postgraduates for postgraduates.
Critical Studies in Improvisation
Focuses on improvisation, community, and social practice.
An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal created and edited by graduate musicology students at UCLA.
Journal of Music History Pedagogy
A bi-annual, peer-reviewed, open-access, on-line journal dedicated to the publication of original articles and reviews related to teaching music history of all levels (undergraduate, graduate, or general studies) and disciplines (western, non-western, concert and popular musics).
Journal of Seventeenth-Century Music
Published by the Society for 17th-Century Music
Music Theory Online
The electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory
The Open Space
A hospitable space for texts which, in one way or another, might feel somewhat marginal — or too ‘under construction’ — for other, kindred publications.
Performance Practice Review
a peer-reviewed journal devoted to the study of Western musical performance practices of all periods.
Popular Musicology Online
A refereed academic journal with an international advisory panel of leading popular musicologists.
Produced by the International Centre for Music Studies at Newcastle University (UK) to provide a forum for progressive thinking across the whole field of musical studies.
Voices: A World Forum for Music Therapy
Voices seeks to nurture an inclusive international profile of music therapy and will encourage contributions from every continent.
Scholarly and Professional Associations
American Musicological Society
Founded in 1934, the AMS advances research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.
International Association for the Study of Popular Music
Founded in 1981, IASPM is an international organization established to promote inquiry, scholarship and analysis in the area of popular music.
Major Orchestra Librarians Association
Facilitates communication between professional performance librarians, educates and assists them in providing service to their organizations, provides support and resources to the performing arts, and works with publishers to achieve the highest standards in music performance materials.
Music Library Association
Founded in 1931, MLA is the professional organization in the United States devoted to music librarianship and all aspects of music materials in libraries.
Society for American Music
Stimulate the appreciation, performance, creation and study of American musics of all eras and in all their diversity, including the full range of activities and institutions associated with these musics throughout the world.
Society for Ethnomusicology
SEM was founded in 1955 to promote the research, study, and performance of music in all historical periods and cultural contexts
Society for Music Theory
SMT was founded in 1977 to encourage scholarly excellence, work to increase the diversity of our discipline, and to promote fruitful exchanges between music theorists, musicologists, performers, and scholars in other fields.
Sheet Music and Early Editions (free online access)
These sites are believed to be offering content that they own, or that is in the public domain.
20th-century Violin Concertos
Tobias Broeker's editions of unpublished 20th-century violin concertos (created with permission of the copyright holders, where necessary).
Archive of 17th-century Italian Madrigals and Arias
Critical editions of 17th-century Italian madrigals and arias, together with introductions to the editions in Italian, German and English, and translations of the texts into English and German
Carl-Maria-von-Weber-Gesamtausgabe - Home
A complete scholarly edition of Carl Maria von Weber’s compositions, letters, diaries, and writings up to his 200th birthday in 2026, from the Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur (Mainz).
Digital Mozart Edition
A digitized version (musical text and the critical commentaries) of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, from the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum and the Packard Humanities Institute.
Public-domain scores from the International Harp Archives at Brigham Young University (offered through the Internet Archive).
Masses from the Renaissance
Editions and sound files of selected polyphonic settings of the Mass and Mass fragments composed during the early Renaissance.
Sheet Music Consortium
Digitized sheet music (in most cases, pre-1923) from a consortium of libraries.
St. Donatian Mass
Features an audio-visual recreation of the 15th-century St. Donatian Mass, with plainsong and Obrecht's polyphony, plus contextual essays, images, and an annotated copy of the score.
Web Library of 17th-century Music
The Society for 17th-century Music offers new editions of 17th-century compositions that are unpublished or commercially unavailable
Sheet Music Vendors (no endorsements made or implied)
Music-In-Print This link opens in a new window
Searchable index of published music (mostly classical) currently available for purchase.
Free printable staff paper in all sizes and clefs.
The Clarinet Quintet: A Reference Tool for String Quartet with Clarinet
This online catalog is a continuing project to bring together all repertoire that exists for the clarinet quintet. The project seeks to offer complete, authoritative data relative to each composition and to demonstrate the totality of the genre.
Provides descriptions of concert program collections (18th century to the present) held by leading libraries, archives and museums in the UK and Ireland
Golden Pages: Conference listings in musicology
Listing of musicology conference all over the world, plus other links for musicologists.
The UK’s largest online collection of historical musical instruments
a “Who’s Who” of early sound recorders
Offers searchable access to recorded track information for over 2,700 Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists.
Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary
Definitions, pronunciations, musical examples, quizzes and simulations -- what's not to love?
Wind Repertory Project
A comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide.