Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary resource containing a large number of peer-reviewed journals.
This is good place to start for most topics, including all sciences, religion, law, history, psychology, political science, criminal justice, literature, current events, sociology and communications.
Abstracts and full-text for most journal articles; Varies by title many from 1980s-present
History Research begins at the library web site found at http://library.richmond.edu/for books, articles, and newspapers. For specific history-related databases, check the History subject guidefor individual databases related to your topic.You can access other subject areas, e.g., Art,Anthropology, Literature, Political Science,Women studies etc, when appropriate to your research.
Catalogs, like the UR Library Catalog and WorldCat, are useful for finding books, primary sources, bibliographies, and reference works.To find journal or newspaper articles you will need to use online indexes and full-text databases.
A good book or journal article can be a bridge to more research sources if it has footnotes or a bibliography.When looking for books, be sure to browse the shelves --physically or virtually-- around the book you are looking for in the collection. Often you will find other books related to your topic are nearby!
Where available, use the subject heading features in the library catalog and databases to discover other similar headings used, because the same topic may have been assigned different subject headings over time.
Keep in mind that many useful resources, and not just primary sources are print works in addition to electronic and internet resources.The Research Guides by Subject/Major library web page, focus primarily on electronic resources. OneSearch and WorldCat (for finding materials to Interlibrary Loan) are your best sources for materials.
If you can’t find what you need, please contact your History liaison librarian, Lynda Kachurek at 289-8458 or firstname.lastname@example.org. You can also schedule an appointment using the button on the front page of this LibGuide. Don't forget that librarians are available to assit you in-person and via email, text, and chat by using the links on the library homepage.
Stuck on how to get started selecting a research topic? This chart from the Organization of American Historians offers some suggestions for asking questions about your topic to kick-start your research!