*Simms - Wm D. (?)
-listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as owning 43 slaves
-mentioned in ad selling property in 1846, see Westham
-------------------------------------
Tibbs or Tubbs
-----------------------------------
*Baughan, Benjamin - farmer- lives on Westham road
listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as owning: 1 40 yr. old female
https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=DD18680925.1.2&srpos=90&e=…-"+Baughan"------
Daily Dispatch, Volume 35, Number 75, 25 September 1868
shot at two negro corn field raiders
#### See Ben Green for Ben Baughan's testimony on barn fire
Daily Dispatch, Volume 4, Number 284, 4 October 1854
-------------------------------------------------
*Dicken, Thomas S. - farmer
- Listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as owning: 1 65 yr. old male, 1 40 year old female, 1 20 year old male, 1 8 yr. old female
-Listed in 1850 non-population census for Henrico County
- Listed in 1860 census as Farmer age 68, value of real estate $9,000 and property $3,000; living in the household, Jane age 65, Martha A Goodson age 40, and Warren Goodson age 10. (above his entry, Thomas N. Dicken age 38, Farm Manager, wife America along with 7 children)
https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=DD18740207.1.4&srpos=7&e=-…-"Thomas+S.+Dicken"------ sale of his property off Three Chopped Road
Daily Dispatch, Volume 46, Number 33, 7 February 1874
-------------------------------------------------------
*Moran, Richard - bricklayer (note brick kilns nearby on maps)
https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=TRM18531122.1.2&srpos=5&e=…-"richard+moran"------
Richmond Mail, Volume 1, Number 194, 22 November 1853 lists his slave as Naney who stole from grocery on Canal
https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=DD18760722.1.1&srpos=10&e=…-"richard+moran"------
Daily Dispatch, Volume 50, Number 19, 22 July 1876- house on Plank Road
---------------------------------------------------------------
McConnell, Edward - jeweler
-listed in 1850 Henrico County census as jeweller & engraver age 44, Real estate $5,000 from Delaware, living with Elizabeth age 45 from Pennsylvania, Anna age 18, Thomas age 17 jeweller, *Edward age 15, at school, Robert age 7, Rebecca age 6, Ruth age 3. (Note Edward McConnell listed in Richmond College directory in 1850.)
----------------------------
Vaughan, Samuel - miller 1870 census
Pullensan ?
-------------------------------
*Gennett, Thomas - farmer 1860 census
- listed as age 57, real estate $1,200, personal estate $800
living with him Caroline age 53, Nancy age 32 seamstress, and Elizabeth 32, seamstress.
- listed in 1850 Henrico Co. census as 47 year old farmer, real estate $1,000, living with Caroline age 45, Martha age 26, Nancy age 22, Elizabeth age 21, and Cornelius Tinsely age 14. (note listed above Robert Ryland and Richmond College entry)
_____________________________________
Carter, R.D. - selling farm 1858
-listed in 1860 Henrico County census as Richard D. Carter, farmer, age 33, real estate $15,000, personal estate $20,000. living with Maria age 32, Annie age 10, Maria age 9, Lucy age 5, Henryella age 3, Littleberry age 5/12, Lucy L. Bradley 30, Littleberry D. Bradley 26, and Clara Holmead age 23, English teacher
-----------------------------------
King, Alfred ? - coach maker
-listed in the 1860 Henrico County census as Coach Maker Real Estate $8,000, personal estate $1,000, living in the home of Eliza W. Robinson age 47, living with Julia King age 20, Ida King age 14, and Alfred King age 3/12.
-listed in 1860 Slave Schedule as owning 1 15 year old female
note: also listed in 1860 census George King, black, labourer living with Susan 30 and Sally 25, washer and ironers
-listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as Alfred King owning 1 48 yr. old male, 1 35 yr. old male, 1 33 yr. old male, 2 30 yr. old males, and 1 25 yr. old male. (total of 6)
-------------------------------------
Dodd
---------------------------------------
*Phillups or Phillips, RD - saw miller - note ads for Wood
listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as owning: 2 50 yr. old females, 1 45 yr. old male, 1 40 year old male, 1 18 yr. old male, 1 35 yr. old male, 1 12 yr. old female.
Richard D. Phillips listed in 1850 non-population census
-------------------------------------------
Franklin, JF
James F. Franklin listed in 1860 Henrico County census as Farmer, age 52, real estate $2,000, personal estate $600 - living with Mary age 48, James age 21 farm labourer, Elizabeth age 19, Ophelia age 17, Henry age 12, Martin age 10, and Louisa age 3
----------------------------
Baughan, IT
-------------------------------------
*Courtney, B could this be Robert?
listed in 1850 Slave Schedule owning: 1 22 yr. old male, 1 35 yr. old female, 1 19 yr. old male, 1 17 yr. old male, 1 11 yr. old female, 1 9 yr. old male, 1 8 yr. old male, 1 6 yr. old female, 1 4 yr. old female, 1 2 yr. old male
-------------------------------------
Jeffries, Capt. William
-a William Jeffries is listed on the 1850 Non-population schedule as a farmer or farm manager in Henrico
----------------------------
Rice, M.
----------------------
Fisk
----------------------
*Guy, Geo. F.
listed in 1850 Slave Schedule as owning: 1 50 yr. old male, 1 45 yr. old male, 1 30 yr. old female, 1 10 yr. old male, 1 6 yr. old female
George F. Guy listed in non-population 1850 census for Henrico
http://tjrs.monticello.org/sites/default/files/pdf/filel6gTEF
Peter Jefferson's map of Beverley - note clarity - Jefferson lot noted above "Hard Sand" #57
https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/b9b9341d-2920-4a83-e040-e00a18062…
mentions Westham 1763 from Carter Braxton to William Cabell
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/02-01-02-0009
Jefferson's memorandum book 1775, see note #66
https://www.loc.gov/resource/mtj1.001_1180_1182/?q=westham&sp=1
(1779 report mentioning Westham to Jefferson)
Image 1 of Archibald Cary to Thomas Jefferson, July 22, 1779, Contracts for Iron Works at Westham, Buckingham Furnace, Canal, and Dam; Water Rights
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0203
16 Nov 1779 War Board (James Innes, William Nelson, & George Lyne) write to Jefferson, describing the Westham foundry and the benefits of having pig iron coming from Buckingham and Oxford furnaces, convenient to pit coal, and sturbridge brick, and the benefits of the canal once it is finished. Mr. Adams is mentioned as commissioner of the foundry and Mr. Reveley as foundry manager.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0146
30 Oct 1779 Jefferson to Benjamin Harrison describes state foundery to be set up at Westham and canal to be built by Ballendine, mentions French involvement. (?)
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0147
30 Oct 1779 Bill for establishing a manufactory of arms & extending navigation through falls of James River. Mentions Ba
https://www.richmondoutside.com/2014/01/when-pony-pasture-was-a-cradle-of-c…
2014 article on the area of Westham and the area directly across the river, includes information on Ballendine, foundries, and Arnold's invasion.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0248
13 Dec 1779 Jefferson to Board of Trade. Jefferson requesting clothing and provisions for slaves and tradesmen at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0307
26 Jan 1780 Board of Trade to Jefferson. They recommend the purchase of property near the foundry for possible wood and gran. (Could this be UR's property?)
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-03-02-0574
ca. 19 July 1780 Memorandum of Executive Agenda. Act to enable Governor to provide Laboratory and Magazines. Direct Commissioner of War Office have magazines erected at Westham & Hoods.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0250
13 Dec 1780 Jefferson to George Muter. Jefferson discusses architecture and manager of foundry.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0323-0002
1780-1781 Diary entries of Jefferson. Includes information on arms and stores being waggoned to Westham and pitched across the river (unsure, if this means some were transported across to the southern shore or if they actually went into the river) The diary mentions arms heaped on shore, was this in preparation to go across or be disposed of in river?
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-27-02-0636
4 Jan 1781 Jefferson to John Woodson. TJ desires that Woodson send every man he can to rendezvous at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0361
4 Jan 1781 Jefferson to County Lts. of Henrico Co., etc. Send every man of your county to bear arms at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0375
6 Jan 1781 Charles Fleming to Jefferson -- He left enemy lines at Westham
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0380
7 Jan 1781(?) George Muter to Jefferson - Muter mentions he has appointed Mr. Bourk to care for arms in Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0381
7 Jan 1781 George Muter to Jefferson, mentions Westham
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0383
7 Jan 1781 Jefferson to Steuben. Jefferson mentions the amount of arms being sent out from Westham and stating it would be impossible to send out the amount which Steuben requests
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0378
7 Jan 1781 William Davies to Jefferson. Davies tells Jefferson that there are a number of unharmed public papers, brimstone, and other articles lying around Westham, but he doesn't have the manpower to collect them.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Washington/99-01-02-04472
8 Jan 1781 letter to Gen. Washington from Baron von Steuben. The Baron mentions the destruction of the Foundry, Boring Mill, Powder Magazine, and small buildings at Westham and the movement of stores to and from Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0396
9 Jan 1781 Jefferson to Steuben. Jefferson mentions sending Hanover battalion from Westham to Steuben.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0408
10 Jan 1981 Jefferson to Washington. Jefferson describes the damage done by British to Westham. Loss of papers of auditors, 5 to 6 tons of powder thrown into canal, roof of foundry burnt, boring mill consumed.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0471
16 Jan 1781 Jefferson to Abner Nash. 23 hours from time British arrived at Westover (?) until they came to Westham. This time allowed for the removal of much of stock. The losses consisted of less than 300 muskets, 5 tons of power, some Sulphur, 5 field pieces, 4 pounders (?), and the letters and records of the Executive.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0412
17 Jan 1781 Jefferson to Steuben. Jefferson agrees it would be safer to divide stores & not keep it all at Westham or New Castle.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0323-0003
13 Jan 1781 Jefferson reports Arnold's invasion in VA Gazette. Almost the exact story he wrote in letters to others.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0443
prior to 14 Jan 1781 -- Steuben's Queries Concerning Military Supplies with Jefferson's answers. Steuben requests boats and scows (flat bottomed boats used to carry cargo) to be built and assembled at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0457
15 Jan 1781 Jefferson to Contractor. Looking to hire craftsmen to rebuild storehouses or building to protects arms and ammunition (?) after recent destruction by British
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0460
15 Jan 1781 Jefferson to John Christian Senf. Jefferson wants JCS's assistance in creating plans to build proper shops & magazines at Westham. Magazine, laboratories, artificers shops should be built with fortifications for them.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0541
23 Jan 1781 George Muter to Jefferson- Speaks of foundry bricklayer, Thomas Reynolds, who served under Col. Southall , taken by enemy on road to Westham. (Look into this incident and person.)
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0670
6 Feb 1781 from Granville Smith with Jefferson's instructions to George Muter. Mentions canoes, 4 at Westham, mentions Foundery negroes.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0767
14 Feb 1781 Jefferson to George Muter. Jefferson requests to fix temporary shops at Westham, plus collect & place Military Stores not being used elsewhere there.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0785
15 Feb 1781 Steuben to Jefferson. See notes under transcription. Mentions Colonel Werneck taken at Westham & 2 gentlemen should possibly be traded for Lt. Col. Ellilgood & 2 soldiers of Col. simcoe's regiment.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-05-02-0050
1 Mar 1781 Jefferson to Speaker of House of Delegates. He reports that most of military supplies were saved prior to British entering Westham and burning foundry.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-05-02-0323
26 Mar 1781 John Christian Senf with Jefferson's instructions to William Davies. writes he will be done with plans for Westham soon.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-05-02-0359
29 Mar 1781 William Davies to Jefferson. Davies talks of moving cannon by waggons past Shockhoe Hill and then transport by water at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-05-02-0522
12 Apr 1781 TJ writes to William Davies. He mentions the building of log houses at Westham.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-05-02-0635
21 Apr 1781 William Davies to Jefferson. Davies says defenses at Hood & Westham need to be built before attempting building at foundry. Buildings there may be used for occasional purposes, but no safety from enemy.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Washington/01-03-02-0007-0006-0019
29 Oct 1781 - Washington's diary. Magazine deposited at Westham for use of Southern States
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Washington/99-01-02-07377
4 Nov 1781 Washington writes to Thomas Nelson. He mentions Westham magazine and the need of 24 men to guard it.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Madison/01-05-02-0122
16 Nov 1782 Benjamin Harrison to VA Delegates. He speaks of shortage of musket powder and requests to have some sent by wagons to Westham. Note this is after the foundry has been burnt.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Washington/04-03-02-0499
2 Mar 1786 Edmund Randolph to Washington. Randolph writes on problems on building canal between Westham & Richmond; he, also, mentions that they will need to use black (slave) labor for project.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-10-02-0264
17 Sep 1786 James Maury to Thomas Jefferson. (Jefferson abroad). Maury tells Jefferson that a boat laden with 8 hogsheads of Tobacco navigated last spring from Rockbridge to Westham wihout stopping except where the River passes the Blue Ridge. they had to remove 1/2 the laod & take it past this point and take the boat back for the remainder of the cargo.
https://www.loc.gov/resource/lhbtn.0987b/?sp=205&q=westham
tobacco coming into Westham on lashed together canoes
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Madison/01-17-02-0353
20 Dec 1787 Madison to Crevecoeur- Madison writes that a boat (bateau?) with 16 men were brought from Westham to within 1 1/2 miles to Richmond. Letter discusses canal work all over.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-12-02-0455
20 Dec 1787 James Madison to Jefferson. He mentions boat from Westham was brought down on the canal to 1 1/2 miles from Richmond.
https://www.loc.gov/resource/mtj1.012_0031_0036/?q=westham&sp=4
14 Dec 1789 Jefferson mentions Westham in letter
Image 4 of Thomas Jefferson to William Short.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Washington/01-06-02-0002-0003-0006
17 APR 1791 Diary of Washington. He mentions he inspects canal sluecs, locks & other works between Richmond and Westham.
https://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/bac0a75c-26f2-b981-e040-e00a18067…
This mentions the lot at Westham, Beverley and it mentions the MILL. 1793 Col. Nicholas Cabell from brother, W. Cabell
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/01-04-02-0323-0004
12 Oct 1796 Depositions taken in 1796 respecting Jefferson's conduct during Arnold's 1781 invasion. Archibald Blairs stated waggoners took public records to foundry instead of West Ham by mistake. Daniel Hylton said he lived near foundry at Westham. He was stopped by Jefferson & asked to assist in the removal of powder, ammunition, arms and other property owned by Public. It was to be taken across the river to a place called Brittains.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/99-01-02-1993
30 June 1805 James Minor to William Armistead Burwell. He recalls Jefferson recalling events when British invaded Richmond, Westham, and Charlottesville. He states Jefferson was in Westham overseeing the removal of materials.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-04-02-0060
1 Aug 1811 George Jefferson writes T Jefferson about Thomas Taylor looking to buy lots and might buy his Westham lots. One lot of little value since the canal is in place.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-04-02-0134
12 Sep 1811 Jefferson to David Higginbotham, mentions his lots at Westham and the current value of them.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-08-02-0111
7 Dec 1814 Jefferson mentions he has 4 or 5 lots at Beverley/Westham. Sees an earlier ad on the sale of lots and inquires as to whether his valued lots are included. Mentions ferry.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-08-02-0127
19 Dec 1814letter to Jefferson from Thomas Taylor. describes upcoming sale on Chesterfield side and question of ownership of lots at Westham
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-08-02-0145
**28 Dec 1814 Jefferson writes of his remembrances as a 8 year old boy. His father surveyed, marked, and recorded in Henrico Courts the lots of Beverley. He goes on to say he has an authenticated copy of the plat. He says the lots were chosen by lottery at the purchase price of £4-6 each. Speaks of the canal putting a end to the real value of the lots.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-11-02-0321
Jefferson states his father purchased lots June 5, 1751. His lots are #57, 107, 108, & 151. One lots includes a ferry lot on the James. Jefferson is considering selling the lots to pay for debts.
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-11-02-0306
10 May 1817 David Higginbottom offers to buy Westham lots from Jefferson if they are still available and not too expensive
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/03-11-02-0314
22 May 1817 Jefferson calculates the value of his lots in Beverley/Westham,
https://founders.archives.gov/documents/Jefferson/98-01-02-0874
10 Nov 1819 Jefferson to John Nicholas speaking on his recollections of papers and materials be thrown across the river (?)
http://tjrs.monticello.org/letter/2229
Jan 28, 1820 is mentioned in letter to Thomas Mann Randolph and the problems navigating the river at that point, need to help with navigation -
landgrant
http://image.lva.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/drawer?retrieve_image=LONN&dir=/L…
http://search.vaheritage.org/vivaxtf/view?docId=cw/viwc00023.xml;query=west…
brewery?
The Attempt to Build a Town at Westham
by Westhampton student, Anne Marshall Skinner, May 1945
held by the VHS in Professor Maude Howlett papers
references listed in paper:
Edward Pleasant Valentine Papers Vol. III p. 1369, land purchased from Col. Edmund Jennings by William Randolph
Tuckahoe Island from John Pleasants
blockage of town by William Byrd, Journal of House of Burgess 1727-1734 p. 70, p. 193
General Assembly act of creation of town on Westham Plantation above falls where goods had to go by land. 1745, Hening, Statues at Large, Vol. V, p. 377-378
Rev. Robert Rose's diary relating selling subscriptions to Westham, photostat LVA
Beverley Randolph's will giving land to brother Peter, mentioning town, deeds and wills Henrico Co. 1750-1767 p.43
additional references: W&M Quarterly Review 2nd series Vol. XII, p. 189; VA Magazine of History & Biography, Vol. XXII, p. 383; Calendar of VA State Papers, Vol. II, p. 493
http://www.richmond.com/archives/article_07eae8d1-d180-526e-97e9-9103e94f7a…
The author mentions the subdivision got its name from the town of Westham, actually this name came from the plantation name of Westham, owned by the Randolphs, Byrds, and Amblers.
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1836-08-19/ed-1/seq-4/#d…
August 19, 1836, sale of crops and farm implements at Westham (including other Ambler plantations)Richmond enquirer., Image 4
https://www.newspapers.com/image/466361696/?terms=westham
24 Mar 1838 Richmond Enquirer p. 4, ad for Peyton, Deane & Edwards
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1838-03-27/ed-1/seq-1/#d…
March 27, 1838, building a facility for canal business; toll collecting
Richmond enquirer., Image 1
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1838-04-17/ed-1/seq-1/#d…
March 27, 1838, was Westham also called Mintstick?
Richmond enquirer., March 27, 1838, Image 1
https://virginiachronicle.com/?a=d&d=RE18410406.1.4&srpos=2&e=-…-"grist+and+saw+mill+for+sale"------
Richmond Enquirer, Volume 37, Number 110, 6 April 1841 - mention of orchard, trees, proximity to canal, and iron machinery(?)
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1846-06-02/ed-1/seq-3/#d…
Sale of Westham and Westham Cottage June 2, 1846, mentions property of late John H. Jennings the farm of *William D. Sims, has orchard and timbered land, house (see list of names)
Richmond enquirer., June 02, 1846, Image 3
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1847-04-23/ed-1/seq-1/#d…
assault on manager of Westham Cottage Apr. 1847
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1847-05-14/ed-1/seq-3/#d…
sale of plantation of Westham and mentions dividing it up into 3 farms, valuable woodlands, and extensive water power.
Richmond enquirer., May 14, 1847, Image 3
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1848-10-03/ed-1/seq-3/#d…
Richmond enquirer., October 03, 1848, Page 3, Image 3 - estate of late John Ambler
https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/lccn/sn84024735/1849-10-05/ed-1/seq-2/#d…
Posted Notice Oct. 5, 1849
https://www.newspapers.com/image/339070862/?terms=westham
20 May 1851 Richmond Enquirer - Westham Plank Road Company
https://www.newspapers.com/image/208555249/?terms=westham
3 Feb 1872 Daily State Journal Alexandria, p. 4 Tract of Land. mentions A.D. Williams trustee and B.W. Green.
https://infoweb.newsbank.com/iw-search/we/HistArchive/?p_product=EANX&p…@
article on Dead Man's Hill in the area of Westham RTD 1939-07-02
"Time Disguises Old History of Hill" by Pat Jones
https://www.monticello.org/site/research-and-collections/beverley-town-virg…