It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
RELIGIOUS STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE: Getting Started
Start here for help with your religion research. Recommended database resources are included, as well as information on how to contact the Religion Librarian.
Interdisciplinary journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the medieval period and up to within 3-5 years of current (depending on journal title).; Full-text and full image; Varies by title; current within 3-5 years; Coverage is constantly expanding with the addition of more scholarly journals to the collection. Moving wall publishes to within 3-5 years of most titles that are still in publication.
Resource of journals in humanities, social sciences, & mathematics
Coverage of journal articles in the fields of literature and criticism, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.; Full-text; 1993 - present
Over 4,500 articles, 150 primary source documents, and two Qur'an translations in English, including a concordance.
Full-text; Extensive resources for study and understanding; of the Islamic world. Articles from Oxford works including The Oxford Encyclopedia; of the Islamic World, The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World, The; Islamic World: Past and Present, The Oxford History of Islam, The Oxford; Dictionary of Islam, and more. Two translations of the Qur'an published in the; Oxford World's Classics series and an electronic version of Hanna Kassis's A; Concordance of the Qur'an.
Scholarly journals in philosophy and religious studies
A collection of over 90 scholarly journals, series, conference proceedings, and other titles in philosophy, religious studies, and related disciplines. Coverage for most titles is complete, from volume 1 to the present, with over 80,000 total articles, reviews and other documents available.; Full-text; Varies by title
The Philological Year , published by the International Society of Classical Bibliography, is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of Ancient Greek and Roman civilizations. The bibliography is published in print and online. The online database includes all volumes of the annual index, beginning with Volume I published in 1928.
The Philological Year covers a wide array of subjects, including Greek and Latin literature and linguistics-which includes early Christian texts and patristics-Greek and Roman history, art, archeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties as numismatics, papyrology, and epigraphy.
Abstracts of journal articles are provided in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian. Book entries may include tables of contents and book review information
Index to periodical articles, conference papers, book articles, and reviews; 1949 - present (Updates are published annually); Citations are in English, French, Italian, German, and Spanish.
This is the electronic version of Migne's Patrologia Graeca. PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
J.-P. Migne, a priest from 1824-1833, moved to Paris and began the work of assembling an enormous body of early texts from 1833 till his death in 1873. His work consists of the The Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Graeca (Paris, 1857-1866), 161 volumes (a.k.a PG), and the Patrologiae Cursus Completus, Series Latina (Paris, 1844-1855), 221 volumes (a.k.a PL). (The latter is a collection of the writings of the "Latin fathers," from Tertullian in the third century to Innocent III [d. 1216]. The texts are written in Latin, which became the official language of the western church, displacing Greek by ca. 200 CE.)
PG is a collection of the writings of the church leaders who wrote in Greek, including both the Eastern "Fathers" and those Western Christians who wrote before the Latin takeover of the West in the third century. It includes, for example, the early writings collectively known as the Apostolic Fathers, such as the Epistles of Clement and The Shepherd of Hermas, the church historian Eusebius, the controversial theologian Origen, and the Cappadocian Fathers Basil the Great, Gregory of Nazianzus, and Gregory of Nyssa. PG's coverage extends to 1439, the date of the Council of Florence.
The texts are generally interlaced, with one column of Greek and a corresponding column on the other side of the page that is the Latin translation. Where the Greek has been lost, such as in Irenaeus, the full text appears only in Latin, and the extant Greek fragments of the work are interspersed throughout the Latin text. In one instance, the original is preserved in Syriac only and translated into Latin.
Digital images of facing columns of text in Greek and Latin; original edited text produced 1857-1866
The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are included.
Contains bibliographic information from works concerning patristic and monastic thought as well as philological and theological learning, humanistic and ecclesiastical thinking.; Full-text; 200 - 1216
The ARAS archive contains about 18,000 photographic images, each cross-indexed, individually mounted, and accompanied by scholarly commentary. The commentary includes a description of the image with a cultural history that serves to place it in its unique historical and geographical setting. Often it also includes an archetypal commentary that brings the image into focus for its modern psychological and symbolic meaning, as well as a bibliography for related reading and a glossary of technical terms.
Religious Studies, Philosophy, Journalism, SPCS Core and Liberal Arts
FYS and SPCS KM Instructor
Rm. 179, Research & Collaborative Area
University of Richmond
261 Richmond Way
Richmond, VA 23173