My Profile
Linda Fairtile
Contact:
Parsons Music Library
Modlin Center for the Arts
University of Richmond, VA 23173
Modlin Center for the Arts
University of Richmond, VA 23173
804 287-6849
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
Resources for Books and Articles
- Grove Music Online This link opens in a new windowSearch this encyclopedia for background information on all genres of music and musicians (best for classical and jazz). The database does include dictionaries like The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, among others. (Oxford)
- All Music GuideAn enormous site that includes biographies and discographies of musicians in all genres.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition. (ProQuest)
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to music - from traditional music to popular music to classical music. (EBSCO)
- Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles in an archive of rock and pop music journalism - from mainstream publications and niche magazines. (Rock's Backpages)
Additional Resources for Music Industry Research
- Musical AmericaMusic industry news (mostly classical) and a variety of trade directories
- Radio LocatorA search engine for locating information about AM and FM radio stations in the U.S. and around the world
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowSearch for newspaper articles and legal materials such as court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more. (Lexis-Nexis)
- WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new windowSearch a catalog of library holdings from around the world. Find which libraries have copies of a certain book, DVD, or other material. The FirstSearch interface was designed more with librarians in mind. (OCLC)
- Music ID This link opens in a new windowSearch for data on the global music industry, including information on iTunes downloads, Spotify and Apple Music streams, and Shazam searches, as well as contemporary and historical data from charts such as Billboard. This database also tracks the worldwide top earning recordings of the 21st century, revealing the most successful artists, singles, and albums of the last twenty years. (Academic Rights Press)
- Music Ally This link opens in a new windowAccess insight briefings, monthly insight reports, news, marketing reports, trend reports, country profiles, and data on the music industry. (Academic Rights Press)
