Primary Source Collections
Full UR Primary Sources List: https://libguides.richmond.edu/history/primarysources
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Search for primary sources on the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. The content dates from the sixteenth century to the present. (Gale)
- BBC Monitoring: Summary of World Broadcasts, 1939-2001 This link opens in a new window
Search this primary source database for a window into radio broadcasts happening in the second half of the 20th century. At the start of WWII, trained specialists listened to radio broadcasts from around the world to help Britain and its allies gather open-source intelligence. Over the next 60 years, BBC expanded its scope and listened to radio broadcasts of all sorts of events. Transcripts were created, then translated into English, then read by experts, who then selected the critical content and compiled it into the daily reports that comprise this database. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Disability in the Modern World This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source materials and videos that cover the community and contributions of people who experience disability. Topics include war and technology, how the media has portrayed the disabled, and the advocacy work of disability rights organizations. (Alexander Street Press)
- Holocaust and the Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution of Nazi War Crimes This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on the investigation and prosecution of war crimes committed by Nazi concentration camp commandants and camp personnel. Documents include correspondence; trial records and transcripts; investigatory material, such as interrogation reports and trial exhibits; clemency petitions and reviews; photographs of atrocities; newspaper clippings; and pamphlets. (Gale)
- Political Extremism and Radicalism This link opens in a new windowSearch primary sources on peripheral groups deemed "extreme" or "radical" by contemporaries on both the right and the left from the early 1900s to the present. Find sources on anti-Catholic, anti-Semitic, anti-war, communist or socialist, creationist, environmentalist, hate, holocaust denial, new left, survivalist, and white supremacist/nationalist groups. Most materials come from the US and Great Britain, but a few are from Australia and other countries in Europe. (Gale)
- Refugees, Relief, and Resettlement: Forced Migration and World War II This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents on plight of refugees and displaced persons across Europe, North Africa, and Asia from 1935 to 1950. Documentation offers a record of the response of governments to various crises and shifts in policy; a chronicling of the aid work undertaken by NGOs and charities seeking to provide relief and aid in resettlement; and a recognition through individual narratives of the daily reality of the refugee experience. (Gale)
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Search for primary source documents focusing on the evolution of feminism and political activism in the 19th and 20th centuries. Topics covered include suffrage, abolition of slavery, alcohol and temperance movements, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, socialism, and more. Also included is a collection that focuses on "female forerunners," women who broke new paths in society through business, social reform, popular culture, health care, and more. (Gale)
Full News Sources Guide: https://libguides.richmond.edu/newssources
- Access World News (Historical and Current) This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from thousands of US and global news sources. It includes some audio and video news sources, as well as traditional newspapers. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Magazine Archives on EBSCO This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of The Atlantic (1857-2014), Bloomberg Businessweek (1929-2010), Forbes (1917-2000), Fortune (1930-2000), Life (1936-2000), Moment (1975-2010), The Nation (1865-2020), National Review (1955-2020), The New Republic (1914-2020), and US News & World Report (1948-1984). (EBSCO)
- New York Times (Website) This link opens in a new window
*Redeem a code and create an account using your UR email address to access the New York Times' website. Your account will be active for 26 weeks, after which you will need to repeat the process and redeem the code again. Note: If you have a current paid New York Times subscription, cancel your paid subscription, prior to redeeming the code and registering. Our subscription does NOT contain access to Games or Cooking. Once registered, you will have access to the New York Times articles from 1851-present. For the date range 1923-1980, users are limited to 5 accesses per day. Note: Web-only content is not linked in OneSearch. You must access the website directly for those articles. (New York Times)
- New York Times Historical Newspaper & Index This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the New York Times from 1851-2019. (ProQuest)
- Richmond Times-Dispatch (1903-present) This link opens in a new windowSearch the complete archives of the Richmond Times-Dispatch from its inception in 1903. PDF scans are available from 1903-present and transcriptions of individual articles are available from 1985-present. (Newsbank/Readex)
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from the archives of the Times of London newspaper, which covers general news, culture, fine arts, politics, history, and more. (Gale)
- Wall Street Journal (Website) This link opens in a new window
Read articles published on WSJ.com. Note: If you want to access WSJ using an app or via Google, create an individual account using your UR email address OR enter the email address in the app and send yourself a one-time passcode to login. The app does not redirect to the UR login screen, so you can't use your UR password. Note: Web-only content is not linked in OneSearch. You must access the website directly for those articles. (Dow Jones)
- Wall Street Journal Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Wall Street Journal from 1889-2011. (ProQuest)
- Washington Post (Website) This link opens in a new window
*Follow these instructions to create an account with your Richmond email address. Read articles published on Washingonpost.com. You must both verify your email address and activate your subscription after creating your account. If you do not see your account name, try disabling all ad blockers in your browser. Note: Web-only content is not linked in OneSearch. You must access the website directly for those articles. (Washington Post)
- Washington Post Historical Newspaper This link opens in a new windowAccess the archives of the Washington Post from 1877-2006. (ProQuest)
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Access a massive collection of streaming videos, including documentaries, interviews, performances, newsreels, field recordings, commercials, and raw footage, among others. Most topics are represented in this database. (Alexander Street Press)
- Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new windowAccess a collection of hundreds of popular, feature films that can be streamed online. (Infobase)
- Fortunoff Video Archive for Holocaust Testimonies This link opens in a new window
*Create an account and then request access to the videos. Watch video testimonies of individuals willing to share their stories of first-hand experience of Nazi persecutions, including those who were hiding, survivors, bystanders, those who resisted, and liberators. Testimonies were recorded in whatever language the witness preferred. Note: There is a collection that is restricted to Yale only; UR does not have access to this collection. (Yale)
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowStream new and classic Hollywood films, documentaries, and TV series from major studios. The videos in this database are requested by professor for specific course and licensed for a limited time. (Swank)
- The Armenian Genocide Museum-InstituteBackground information and select primary sources on the Armenian Genocide.
- Armenian National InstituteWebsite focused on the Armenian Genocide that includes "photo collections, a detailed chronology, sample archival documents, international conventions, a survey of press coverage, and a guide to bibliographies."
- Cambodia Tribunal Monitor"Cambodia Tribunal Monitor is a consortium of academic, philanthropic, and non-profit organizations committed to providing public access to the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia and open discussion throughout the judicial process."
- Clinton Digital Library - BosniaDigitized material related to the Bosnian genocide found in the Clinton Digital Library.
- EuroDocs - Germany Divided and ReunifiedCollections of websites focused on post-WWII Germany, hosted through EuroDocs.
*Note: Not all of the links in this collection may still be active. - Genocide Archive of RwandaSite established by the Aegis Trust Rwanda that features a "digital collection of items related to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda, pre-genocide history and post-genocide reconstruction processes."
- Genocide Archive of Rwanda Collection"The Genocide Archive of Rwanda Collection contains oral history testimonies, photographs, publications, documents, and other materials related to the 1994 Rwandan Genocide that are held at repositories across Rwanda."
- Genocide Studies ProgramAffiliated with Yale University's MacMillan Center for International and Area Studies, this site features digital collections, bibliographic info, and links to other resources for a wide range of genocides.
- German History in Documents and ImagesLinks to documents, images, and maps from throughout Germany's history. Resources are divided into different time periods. Hosted and produced by The German Historical Institute.
- Germany Under Occupation: Illustrative Materials and DocumentsOnline ebook from HathiTrust published in 1949 featuring government documents from Germany's surrender after WWII.
- Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Digitized Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service CommitteeDigitized collection of an organization that aided displaced persons in Europe during and after World War II. Access through the Andover-Harvard Theological Library.
- Nuremburg Trials ProjectThe Harvard Law School Library's Nuremberg Trials Project is an open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials.
- Sudan Open Archive"The Sudan Open Archive offers free digital access to knowledge about all regions of Sudan. It is an expanding, word-searchable, full-text database of historical and contemporary books and documents."
- United States Holocaust Memorial Museum - Oral History CollectionFeatures 80,000+ oral history interviews from Holocaust survivors, in both audio and video format.
- Virginia Holocaust Museum - Primary SourcesDigitized primary sources featured in the Virginia Holocaust Museum.
- Yad Vashem Documents CollectionThe Yad Vashem documents collection houses more than 200 million pages of documentation from various sources: material that was collected during the Holocaust and was brought to Israel after the war, material that was copied from archives throughout the world, private documentation and other sources.
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)