Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Boatwright Memorial Library

HEALTH STUDIES RESEARCH GUIDE: Welcome

LibGuides Menu

Welcome


Welcome to the UR research guide for Health Studies!  Use this guide to learn more about the library's rich resources -- you can access books, databases, journals, and websites from these pages. 

Other research guides may be helpful, including political science, sociology, psychology, and education.

Samantha Guss and Melanie Hillner share liaison responsibilities for the Health Studies program.  If your research topic falls more into public policy, contact Samantha for assistance.  If it falls more into science or medicine, contact Melanie for help.  

                                                                                      ~ Samantha & Melanie

Background information & key reference works for health studies

Use encyclopedias and dictionaries to obtain an overview of your subject, an understanding of basic concepts, a summary of key issues, and definitions.  Articles frequently include bibliographies and may refer you to other entries on related topics:

  • AccessScience (the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology)
  • Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment - 52 ed.
         REFERENCE  RC71 .A14 2013
  • Dorland's Medical Dictionary
         REFERENCE  R121 .D73 2007
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics - 3rd ed.
         QH332. E52 2004  or  online
  • Encyclopedia of Cancer - 2nd ed.
         REFERENCE  RC262 .E558 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Genetics
         REFERENCE QH427 .E532 2002
  • Encyclopedia of Immunology
         REFERENCE  QR180.4 .E53 1998
  • Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology, Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
         RA418 .E354 2004  or  online
  • Encyclopedia of Microbiology
         REFERENCE  QR9 .E53 2009
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine - 2nd ed.
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
         REFERENCE  RC41 .G35 2002  or  online
  • Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders
         REFERENCE  RC437 .G35 2003
  • Gray's Atlas of Anatomy 
         REFERENCE QM25 .G72 2008
  • Infectious Diseases:  In Context
         REFERENCE  RC111 .I516 2008   

     

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Photo
Samantha Guss
she/her
Contact:
Office: 182 Boatwright Library,
Research & Collaborative Area
Email: sguss@richmond.edu
Phone: 804-289-8851
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.