UR Library Databases
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on most topics. This multi-disciplinary database is a good place to start if you don't know where else to begin. (EBSCO)
-
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics related to computer science, such as computer theory and systems, new technologies, algorithms, artificial intelligence, electronics, computational mathematics, data security, and more. (EBSCO)
-
Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowSearch these databases at once: Literature Resource Center, Scribner Writers Online, Twayne's Authors Online, and the Gale Literature Criticism. (Gale)
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
-
OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)
-
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles on topics related to the arts, humanities, and social sciences. (Project MUSE)
-
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Search for journal articles and books on topics related to psychology. (APA)
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles from journals specializing in sociology and related topics, including abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, substance abuse and other addictions, violence, and more. (EBSCO)
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Search across Biological Abstracts, Medline, Preprint Citation Index, PQ Dissertations and Theses, Web of Science Core (Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index), and Zoological Record. Track, evaluate, and compare journals and articles. Tools included are the number of citations, the journal's impact factor, and other metrics. (Clarivate)
Use the following steps to find items you can't access in full through UR Libraries
- Search for your article title in Google Scholar to see if a full-text version is available
- If you find your article, double-check that it has the correct citation information (journal title, author(s), volume/issue number, etc.)
- You can request journal articles (and other resources) from other institutions using UR's interlibrary loan service
- The service is 100% free, though it may take a few days for your items to arrive
- Click here to activate your account or log in to the ILL system
- Questions? Contact our ILL department at ill@richmond.edu
Using Basic Library Search Tools
Want more tutorials focused on discrete research skills? Want to review content from the library instruction session? Want to dive deeper into research concepts? Check out the full list of UR Library Tutorials here: https://libguides.richmond.edu/c.php?g=1405019&p=10399570
Help Menu
- Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch our library catalog (aka OneSearch) for all types of sources. It combines results from many of our databases. (Ex Libris)
- OneSearch This link opens in a new windowUse this discovery tool to search most of the University Libraries' collections, including books, journal articles, newspapers, dissertations, music, and video recordings. (Ex Libris)