Boatwright Cookbook Collections
Boatwright Library has an extensive collection of materials relating to the history of food, including contemporary and historic cookbooks.
Contemporary cookbooks are searchable through the library catalog. Materials in print are likely going to be located in the TX shelving section, located on Level B2.
Historical cookbooks are housed in the Galvin Rare Book Room. Titles are available by searching the library catalog, where the location will indicate that it is in the Rare Book Room location. If you have a UR ID, you can request to see a book through your library account. All rare book room materials are available to use during open research hours or by appointment. Feel free to email archvies@richmond.edu for more information or assistance.
Related Database of Interest
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new windowSearch for primary source documents that illustrate the links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as chart key issues around agriculture, nutrition, food production, and advertising. Items include manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, correspondence, government reports, and other illustrated content. (AM)
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowAccess books printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1770. Subjects covered include literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, religion, and politics. (ProQuest)
General Database Resources
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics in the arts, humanities, social sciences and some math/science. Most journals have volumes/issues dating from the 19th century to within 3-5 years of present day. (ITHAKA)
- Historical Annual Reports (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowAccess annual reports from US companies dating from 1844-2008. Find information on financial performance, key officers, competitors, and market trends. (ProQuest)
- Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new windowSearch for journal articles on topics relate to the hospitality and tourism industry, including culinary arts, demographics and statistics, development and investment, food and beverage management, law, hotel management and administrative practices, leisure and business travel, market trends, technology, and more. (EBSCO)
Background / Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America by Call Number: TX349.E45 2004ISBN: 0195154371Publication Date: 2004-12-09Ebook
The Chef's Companion by Call Number: TX349 .R48 2003ebISBN: 0471473316Publication Date: 2003-10-07Ebook
A Cultural History of Food by Call Number: GT2850 .C8528 2012ISBN: 97818478835516 volume reference set, located on Level 1 Reference Section
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureCall Number: GT2850 .E53 2003ISBN: 0684805685available online and in print, 3 volume collection located on Level 1 Reference shelves.
Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia by Call Number: GT2850 .F666 2011ISBN: 9780313376269available online and in print, 4 volume set located on Level 1 Reference shelves
The Oxford Companion to Food by Call Number: TX349 .D38 1999ISBN: 0192115790Available online and in print, located on Level 1 Reference shelves.- A Dictionary of Gastronomy byCall Number: TX349 .S53 1970Publication Date: 1970Available as print book, located on Level B2
Larousse Gastronomique by Call Number: TX349.M613 1988ISBN: 0517570327Print only, located on Level B2
Additional Online Resources
Menus
- UW Menu CollectionThis collection represents menus, placemats, and other graphic materials from many of the Puget Sound area's most famous restaurants and dining facilities in the years between 1889 and 2003.
- Historical Menus from the New York Public Library CollectionWith approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present, The New York Public Library’s restaurant menu collection is one of the largest in the world, used by historians, chefs, novelists and everyday food enthusiasts.
- The National Restaurant Association Menu CollectionThe collection was donated to Johnson & Wales University Library by the National Restaurant Association. Many of the menus featured were part of their menu design contests in the 1980s and 1990s.
- Transportation Library Menu CollectionThe menu collection comprises over 400 menus from 54 national and international airline carriers, cruise ships, and railroad companies, dating from 1929 to the present, with a particular focus on mid-to-late 20th century air transportation.
- Culinary Institute of America Historic Menu CollectionThis collection includes a sampling of menus drawn from the world-renowned CIA Menu Collection, a collection of nearly 40,000 historical menus from over sixty individual collections. Assembled over decades, the collection illustrates the history of dining in America and abroad, with menus from all of the states and over 80 countries, as well as ships, railroads and airlines.
- Menus: The Art of DiningThe majority of menus selected for this digital project came from the Bohn-Bettoni Collection, which consists of approximately 2000 restaurant menus dating from 1870-1930. Collected via UNLV.
General Collections
- Food History Primary Sources: ProductionCollection of links from the University of Washington leading to online repositories of primary sources dealing with food production.
*Note: Some resources (ex. those with a lock icon next to them) may only be accessible to UW students, while others are freely available to all users. - Food History Primary Sources: ConsumptionCollection of links from the University of Washington leading to online repositories of primary sources dealing with food consumption.
*Note: Some resources (ex. those with a lock icon next to them) may only be accessible to UW students, while others are freely available to all users.
Miscellaneous (Cookbooks, Int'l Sources, Gov't Documents)
- Feeding America76 American cookbooks from late 18th to early 20th century from Michigan State University Libraries
- American Institute of Wine & Food Culinary CollectionHosted through UC San Diego, this collection focuses largely on European cuisine and culinary history from the 17th to early 19th centuries, as well as material from Mexico, the Pacific Rim, Latin America, California, and the American West.
- The National Agricultural Library Digital CollectionsOffers access to full-text historical documents in the agricultural and food sciences from the U.S. National Agricultural Library.
Very Short Introductions
Food by Call Number: TX355 .K74 2013ISBN: 9780199661084Publication Date: 2013-12-01This item is available in print and ebook formats.
